Biology: Databases

Information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.

Citations for journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

Index, abstracts, and full text covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Database provides citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals.

Index and abstracts to international journal articles in biological and medical research.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus™ provides full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.

Index and abstracts to international books and meeting in biological and medical research.

Each of the 23 Case Files is interactive, including a description of the case with opportunity to record impressions and ideas, relevant diagnostic pearls, and a summary of treatment. Each case provides a self-review quiz. Topics include : Anatomy, Anesthesiology, Biochemistry, Cardiology, Critical Care, Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Geriatrics, Gynecologic Surgery, High-Risk Obstetrics, Internal Medicine, Medical Ethics & Professionalism,, Microbiology, Neurology, Neurosciences, Obstetrics/Gynecology, Orthopaedic Surgery, Pathology, Pediatrics, Pharmacology, Physiology, Psychiatry, and Surgery.

Index, abstracts, and full text of the literature of nursing and allied health.

Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis.

EndNote Basic is available via any Web of Science database by clicking on the link on the top menu and creating a free account. EndNote Basic allows you to export citations from any compatible database into an EndNote library, and then organize them into project folders. You can then create formatted reference lists in one of four citation formats: APA, MLA, CSE C-S, or CSE N-Y. A software plugin is provided to automatically insert citations into a Word document as you write.

Index, abstracts and full text of articles on environmental studies.

Index and abstracts for articles about plants and gardens.

Index, abstracts and full text of articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.

Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.

Patient Advisory Leaflets providing vital education on medications for patients.

MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.

A comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals. MEDLINE is the official library version of PUBMED

A comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals. MEDLINE is the official library version of PUBMED.

The NCBI houses a series of databases relevant to biotechnology and biomedicine. Major databases include GenBank for DNA sequences and PubMed, a bibliographic database for the biomedical literature. Other databases include the NCBI Epigenomics database.

A comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals. This link to PubMed provides full-text links to articles owned by Ritter Library.

SciFinderⁿ, a resource from CAS-a division of the American Chemical Society, provides access to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in basic SciFinder, enhanced with relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. To use this link, you must first create a username and password using the “ CAS SciFinderⁿ Registration" link located below.

Use this link to create a username and password to access CAS SciFinderⁿ , CAS Analytical Methods, and CAS Formulas.

UpToDate® is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 5,100 world-renowned physician authors, editors and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality.

Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.