Sustainability: Databases Help

Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Journals from the American Chemical Society, 1879-the present. Current and archival ACS journals are searchable both through this site and through the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center.

Citations for journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

Index and abstracts of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Applied Science & Technology Full Text covers 738 journals that includes trade and industrial publications, journals of professional and learned societies, and specialized subject periodicals. Included are a wide variety of applied science specialties—from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering.

Open access to over 750,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.

Index and abstracts to international journal articles in biological and medical research.

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus™ provides full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.

Index and abstracts to international books and meeting in biological and medical research.

Offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.

A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.

U.S. Census Bureau's site, free to browse and download data.

The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.

Indexing of Cleveland, OH periodicals.

Provides access to more than 14,800,000 patents with links to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources. Sections include Chemical, Electrical and Electronic, and Engineering.

Brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Comprehensive coverage of all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.

Index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe. Purchase print or electronic copies via credit card. Also see Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center for the OhioLINK repository for the State of Ohio.

Comprehensive collection of e-books.

Menu of databases provided through EBSCO Publishing. EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via Ritter Library. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.

Search a large collection of multidisciplinary e-books.

Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences.

Full text of 7000+ research journals.

Online theses and dissertations from Ohio graduate students.

This collection provides unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to the energy and power industries, encompassing all component industries within, including those focused on petroleum, natural gas, electric power, coal, nuclear power, renewable energy, and others. Energy & Power Source offers cover-to-cover indexing from more than 1,000 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with energy industry-related issues. Hundreds of key energy-focused industry and market reports are also included.

Provides the latest insight into topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business. This database offers users full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.

Index, abstracts and full text of articles on environmental studies.

Offers a comprehensive curriculum focused collection of full-length videos or video clips in 26 core academic subjects. The complete suite of videos in the following subjects are available: Health, Medicine, Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, Economics, and Sciences. The subscription offers unlimited access with public performance rights and no copyright infringement concerns. Integrates fully with the BW LMS. Captioning and interactive, searchable transcripts are available for all titles.

This collection offers full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas that are integral to the food industry. This database offers cover-to-cover full-text coverage for more than 1,400 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with food industry-related issues. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are available.

Index and abstracts for articles about plants and gardens.

Index, abstracts and full text of articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.

Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

A standard source for the quantitative facts of American history, providing data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.

Includes scholarship published in more than 2,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. JSTOR is an archival database providing complete runs of back issues. Issues published in the last 3-5 years are not usually available. Open and free Artstor images have been added to the platform. The JSTOR ebook collection adds an additional 50,000 electronic books published prior to the last 3-5 years by scholarly publishers. JSTOR ebooks are also listed in the BW book catalog.

A digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

A comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals. MEDLINE is the official library version of PUBMED

From the site: The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2011.

Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.

Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.

Bilingual dictionaries of English and French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish.

The Oxford Scholarship Online E-book Collection contains scholarly works across many disciplines.

Public Affairs Index, covers all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict.

A collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. In order to maintain the most current collection of news, this database contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources.

Large-scale street plans of Ohio communities, produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867-1970.

Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines

Public catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.