History: Databases Help

Academic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Index and abstracts of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

This database from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) provides PDF images with OCR plain text of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1912.

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.

Citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents covering native North American culture, history, and life.

Biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.

Caribbean Search is a multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region. The collection contains over 730 Caribbean focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports and reference books making this the largest collection of full text content available to academic, school and public libraries in the region. This database is updated weekly.

Central & Eastern European Academic Source (CEEAS) is a multidisciplinary, multilingual database providing full-text coverage pertaining to all facets of central and eastern European countries. The collection contains hundreds of full-text publications covering many academic areas including business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, and sociology relating to this geographic region.

17th edition of the style guide. Includes both author-date and notes-bibliography references.

The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.

Indexing of Cleveland, OH periodicals.

Brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Comprehensive coverage of all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.

Index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe. Purchase print or electronic copies via credit card. Also see Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center for the OhioLINK repository for the State of Ohio.

Early American Fiction contains works of novelists and short-story writers, 1774-1850. This database comprises the full texts of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes.

Comprehensive collection of e-books.

Menu of databases provided through EBSCO Publishing. EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via Ritter Library. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.

Search a large collection of multidisciplinary e-books.

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare includes the complete text of many major editions of Shakespeare's works, as well as separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha, related works, adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.

Thousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences.

Full text of 7000+ research journals.

Online theses and dissertations from Ohio graduate students.

A bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Includes nearly 86,000 essays from almost 700 collections. Essays from more than 300 volumes and more than 20 annuals and serial publications are added annually. Also provides full bibliographic information on collective titles indexed. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

Offers a comprehensive curriculum focused collection of full-length videos or video clips in 26 core academic subjects. The complete suite of videos in the following subjects are available: Health, Medicine, Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, Economics, and Sciences. The subscription offers unlimited access with public performance rights and no copyright infringement concerns. Integrates fully with the BW LMS. Captioning and interactive, searchable transcripts are available for all titles.

Index and abstracts for publications covering gender-engaged scholarship.

Page images and indexes to Harper's Weekly, covering the Civil War and Reconstruction periods.

Union catalog of European printing from the 15th century to the 1830s.

Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

A standard source for the quantitative facts of American history, providing data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.

Humanities Abstracts™ provides detailed indexing for almost 700 periodicals covering the humanities—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984, including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

Humanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of 1,900 journals and books in the humanities. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

Jewish Studies Source contains over 400 full-text titles. Sources comprising the collection include full-text for leading academic journals within the discipline, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers, and over 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews. This database includes 123 full-text journals & magazines, including 66 that are unavailable from Academic Search™ . Jewish Studies Source also offers extensive full-text backfiles. In addition, Jewish Studies Source contains the entire Jewish Telegraphic Agency database from 1922 to present.

Includes scholarship published in more than 2,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. JSTOR is an archival database providing complete runs of back issues. Issues published in the last 3-5 years are not usually available. Open and free Artstor images have been added to the platform. The JSTOR ebook collection adds an additional 50,000 electronic books published prior to the last 3-5 years by scholarly publishers. JSTOR ebooks are also listed in the BW book catalog.

Oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protestors at Kent State University.

A digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies, produced by NISC, is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa . This database contains more than 639,000 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present.

An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.

Bibliography of books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Ohio, 1796-1850.

From the site: The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2011.

National Underground Railroad Freedom Center E-Books are two historical books on slavery, from the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center.

Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.

Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.

Bilingual dictionaries of English and French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish.

The Oxford Scholarship Online E-book Collection contains scholarly works across many disciplines.

Index, abstracts, and full text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Online access to the complete content of printed historical reference sets.

Large-scale street plans of Ohio communities, produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867-1970.

Index and abstracts for publications covering Women's Studies.

Public catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.

Photographs documenting the invention of the airplane and the lives of the Wright Family.