Catalogs
- OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowCatalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
Call Numbers
Books and printed music are arranged according to the Library of Congress' Classification System. The library has circulating and non-circulating (reference) collections. Each collection is divided in to three sections.
- M = Printed music/scores (organized by instrument/genre)
- ML = Books about music and musicians
- MT = Books on music theory, pedagogy, and technique
The Jones Music Library has distinct collections for music education and music therapy resources. A complete description of the library's collections may be found here.
Important Call Numbers
| Call Number | Genre |
| M 1500 | Operas/Musicals - Full scores |
| M 1503 | Operas/Musicals - Vocal scores |
| M 1507 | Anthologies |
| M 1572 | Film music |
| M 1619 | Songs & lieder (printed music) |
| M 1620 | Anthologies with piano |
| M 1621 | Collections with piano (one composer) |
| ML 48-50 | Librettos |
Searching the Library Catalog for Scores
Typically, vocal music and music theatre repertoire is published in collections (e.g. Broadway Songs of the 1940s) or within a complete work (Rodgers/Hammerstein. Carousel). The library collection also includes anthologies of songs published for specific tessituras and/or specific genres (e.g. Singers Musical Theatre Anthology). The Jones Music Library includes a modest collection of musical librettos.
Use the following guidelines when searching OPAL for vocal repertoire.
| Searching for... | Keyword Search | Alternate Keyword search | Limited to material type |
| Popular song/Lieder | Composer's last name AND song title (original language) | Composer's last name AND "songs" (or title of larger work) | music score |
| Aria/song from opera/musical | Composer's last name AND song title (original language) | Composer's last name AND Title of opera/musical | music score |
| Complete opera/musical | Composer's last name AND Title of the work (original work) | Composer's last name AND Alternate title | music score |
| Libretto | Title of the work AND "librettos" | Librettist's last name AND "librettos" or "lyrics" | book |
Classical Scores Online
There are a wide variety of public domain scores available on the Internet. The Loeb Music Library at Harvard University provides a more comprehensive list of digital scores collections available on the web. This is a list of more substantial collections.
- Online Resources for Music Scholars: Digital ScoresAuthoritative, up-to-date source for worldwide links to non-commercial Web sites offering digitized scores and sheet music, maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.
- Classical Scores LibraryLarge and expanding collection of both in-copyright and public domain editions and manuscripts of music scores, mostly from the classical repertory. Includes works by major and lesser-known composers spanning the Renaissance to the 21st century in full, study, and piano-vocal scores, and piano reductions.
- Musical Scores (Eastman School of Music)A collection of public domain scores from the collections of the Sibley Music Library, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester.
- Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP)Canadian Web site sponsored by the International Music Score Library Project and dedicated to creating "a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge."
- Sheet Music ConsortiumContains tens of thousands of images of sheet music from collections throughout the United States. Browsable by title, and searchable by composer, subject, publisher, and date. Hosted by the University of California, Los Angeles.
