Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Latinx music and musicians span the globe, with concentrations in Europe and the Americas. This page provides some resources and approaches to exploring the many styles and cultures. These are just starting places for you to begin to access the wealth of media and writings about Latinx music.
Approaches to Searching
To locate books about a specific person or topic, use the Subject Search in the OPAL Library Catalog. Each book has been tagged with specific subject headings that describe its content.
Subject headings for groups of people not associated with a nationality are relatively new, and practices are still being worked out. Some headings that have been applied to Latinx music, though, include:
- Hispanic Americans -- Music
- Latin Americans -- United States
OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
There are many online resources devoted to diversity in music. Here are just a few essential ones.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
Oxford Music Online
Although OMO (incorporating the Gorve Dictionary of Music) initially focused almost exclusively on Western art music, its focus expanded in more recent editions, and it now provides valuable content across a range of cultures.
Bloomsbury Popular Music
Features a substanital encyclopedia of popular music, the 33 1/3 book series didicated to coverage of rock and pop albums, and schoarly books.
Institute for Composer Diversity
The ICD maintains databases of diverse composers and their works. You can search by composer identity, instrument, ensemble, and musical grade level.
National Association of Latino Arts and Cultures
A non-profit dedicated to advancing Latinx arts and culture in the United States.
Naxos Music Library World
Access to all genres of world recordings. Includes labels such as African Music Network, Global Beats, Harmonia Mundi, Shamrock Records and Smithsonian Folkways among others.
Naxos Jazz Library
An adjunct to Naxos Music Library, NJL features 100,000 tracks by acclaimed artist from all corners of the jazz world.