Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Astronomy: Databases

A Library Research Guide for Astronomy Students. This guide is designed to help you navigate the wide variety of Astronomy resources available through Ritter Library.

JSTOR

Baldwin Wallace University is a member of JSTOR, the premium archive of academic journals.  Ritter Library subscribes to all available JSTOR journal collections.  We are able to offer this resource through the support of the University officers and the faculty Student Academic Services Advisory Committee.

“JSTOR is a research and teaching platform for the academic community to discover and preserve scholarly content.  JSTOR includes over 1,400 leading academic journals and primary source materials valuable for academic work, including the most current issues of 174 journals. The entire archive is full-text searchable, includes images and multi-media files, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.  JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways.  JSTOR is not a current issue database but instead provides access to complete runs of back issues. Issues published in the last 3-5 years are not usually available. For instance, JSTOR includes the full text of The New England Quarterly from its first issue in 1928 through 2008.”

To access JSTOR, go to https://bw.opal-libraries.org/login?url=https://www.jstor.org .

Databases

Use the links below to access OhioLINK, Ritter Library, and free databases that are appropriate for conducting research on Astronomy topics. These databases allow precise searching of periodical articles on specific topics. Many of the cited articles will be available for viewing, downloading, or printing from within the citation. If the article is not available in the database that you're in, use 'Full Text Finder' to find the article in another OhioLINK database or to see if Ritter Library owns a print copy of the periodical. If the article is not available electronically or owned by Ritter Library in print, you can request a copy using the Interlibrary Loan Request Form.

Off-campus access: When selecting a database you will be prompted to enter your BW username and password.

Search JSTOR

(Search box below works from on-campus only)

Reference Librarian

Charles Vesei's picture
Charles Vesei
Contact:
Room 217
Ritter Library
Baldwin Wallace University
57 East Bagley Road
Berea, Ohio 44017-2027
Office (440) 826-3579
Subjects:AST, EGR, ENG, FRN, GER, HIS, INT, PHL, PHY, POL, SPN, SUS