Databases
Use the links below to access OhioLINK, Ritter Library, and free databases that are appropriate for conducting research on Spanish and related topics. These databases allow precise searching of periodical articles on specific topics. Many of the cited articles will be available for viewing, downloading, or printing from within the citation. If the article is not available in the database that you are in, use 'Full Text Finder' to find the article in another OhioLINK database or to see if Ritter Library owns a print copy of the periodical. If the article is not available electronically or owned by Ritter Library in print, you can request a copy using the Interlibrary Loan Request Form.
Off-campus access: When selecting a database you will be prompted to enter your BW username and password.
- All Databases A-ZComplete listings of all OhioLINK and Ritter Library databases, in alphabetical order.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.
- Caribbean Search This link opens in a new windowCaribbean Search is a multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region. The collection contains over 730 Caribbean focused scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, reports and reference books making this the largest collection of full text content available to academic, school and public libraries in the region. This database is updated weekly.
- Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new windowClase and Periodica is an index of articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
- Fuente Academica This link opens in a new windowFuente Académica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
- Humanities Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowHumanities Abstracts™ provides detailed indexing for almost 700 periodicals covering the humanities—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984, including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowHumanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of 1,900 journals and books in the humanities. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowIncludes scholarship published in more than 2,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. JSTOR is an archival database providing complete runs of back issues. Issues published in the last 3-5 years are not usually available. Open and free Artstor images have been added to the platform. The JSTOR ebook collection adds an additional 50,000 electronic books published prior to the last 3-5 years by scholarly publishers. JSTOR ebooks are also listed in the BW book catalog.
- LexisNexis Academic see Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new windowLiterary Reference Source Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.
- MedicLatina This link opens in a new windowMedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.
- Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new windowBilingual dictionaries of English and French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Scholarship Online E-book Collection contains scholarly works across many disciplines.
- Play Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowPlay Index searches over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject; style; genre; or cast type. In addition to standard searching capability, users can search by cast gender and number or by the age group for which it was written. Records include requirements for scenery, cast, and music, as well as an abstract and subject descriptions in addition to links to full-text plays accessible online.
- Short Story Index (H. W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowAn index to all the important collections and anthologies of short stories that are published each year. All literary genres are covered. Approximately 200+ monographs are captured per year, with approximately 3,000-4,000 analytics (chapters/stories).
Helpful Guides to Using Databases
Below are links to informational guides on using specific databases.
Reference Librarian
Laurie Willis
she | her
Contact:
Room 217
Ritter Library
Baldwin Wallace University
57 E. Bagley Rd
Berea, OH 44017-2027
Ritter Library
Baldwin Wallace University
57 E. Bagley Rd
Berea, OH 44017-2027
Personal desk: 440-826-3569