Search Google Scholar
JSTOR
Baldwin Wallace University is a member of JSTOR, the premium archive of academic journals. Ritter Library subscribes to all available JSTOR journal collections. We are able to offer this resource through the support of the University officers and the faculty Student Academic Services Advisory Committee.
“JSTOR is a research and teaching platform for the academic community to discover and preserve scholarly content. JSTOR includes over 1,400 leading academic journals and primary source materials valuable for academic work, including the most current issues of 174 journals. The entire archive is full-text searchable, includes images and multi-media files, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways. JSTOR is not a current issue database but instead provides access to complete runs of back issues. Issues published in the last 3-5 years are not usually available. For instance, JSTOR includes the full text of The New England Quarterly from its first issue in 1928 through 2018.”
To access JSTOR, go to https://bw.opal-libraries.org/login?url=https://www.jstor.org .
Databases
Use the links below to access OhioLINK, Ritter Library, and free databases that are appropriate for conducting research on French language culture, and literature. These databases allow precise searching of periodical articles on specific topics. Many of the cited articles will be available for viewing, downloading, or printing from within the citation. If the article is not available in the database that you are in, use 'Full Text Finder' to find the article in another OhioLINK database or to see if Ritter Library owns a print copy of the periodical. If the article is not available electronically or owned by Ritter Library in print, you can request a copy using the Interlibrary Loan Request Form.
Off-campus access: When selecting a database you will be prompted to enter your BW username and password.
- All Databases A-ZComplete listings of all OhioLINK and Ritter Library databases, in alphabetical order.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete , designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. This database covers a wide variety of pertinent subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and much more.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 of the world's leading science and social sciences journals.
- Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.
- Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new windowBrings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
- EBSCO E-Books This link opens in a new windowSearch a large collection of multidisciplinary e-books.
- Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new windowThousands of scholarly and reference e-books covering the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new windowFull text of 7000+ research journals.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowOffers a comprehensive curriculum focused collection of full-length videos or video clips in 26 core academic subjects. The complete suite of videos in the following subjects are available: Health, Medicine, Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, Economics, and Sciences. The subscription offers unlimited access with public performance rights and no copyright infringement concerns. Integrates fully with the BW LMS. Captioning and interactive, searchable transcripts are available for all titles.
- Heritage of the Printed Book This link opens in a new windowUnion catalog of European printing from the 15th century to the 1830s.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
- Humanities Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowHumanities Abstracts™ provides detailed indexing for almost 700 periodicals covering the humanities—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984, including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowHumanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of 1,900 journals and books in the humanities. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowIncludes scholarship published in more than 2,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. JSTOR is an archival database providing complete runs of back issues. Issues published in the last 3-5 years are not usually available. Open and free Artstor images have been added to the platform. The JSTOR ebook collection adds an additional 50,000 electronic books published prior to the last 3-5 years by scholarly publishers. JSTOR ebooks are also listed in the BW book catalog.
- LexisNexis Academic see Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new windowLiterary Reference Source Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowIncludes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.
- OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowCatalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
- Oxford Digital Reference Shelf This link opens in a new windowBilingual dictionaries of English and French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford Scholarship Online E-book Collection contains scholarly works across many disciplines.
- Play Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowPlay Index searches over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject; style; genre; or cast type. In addition to standard searching capability, users can search by cast gender and number or by the age group for which it was written. Records include requirements for scenery, cast, and music, as well as an abstract and subject descriptions in addition to links to full-text plays accessible online.
- Vente et Gestion This link opens in a new windowProvides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others.
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new windowPublic catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.
Reference Librarian
Laurie Willis
she | her
Contact:
Room 217
Ritter Library
Baldwin Wallace University
57 E. Bagley Rd
Berea, OH 44017-2027
Ritter Library
Baldwin Wallace University
57 E. Bagley Rd
Berea, OH 44017-2027
Personal desk: 440-826-3569