Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Theatre: Audio & Video

A Library Research Guide for Music Theatre students. This guide is designed to help you navigate the wide variety of Music Theatre resources available through the Jones Music Library.

Exploring our collection

Streaming Media

Met Opera on Demand

Naxos Video Library 

Naxos Video Library offers more than 1,800 full-length videos of live classical music concerts, operas, ballets, and documentaries

DVDs

The Jones Music Library features a substantial DVD collection which includes many musical theatre productions and live performance recordings. 

To search OPAL for a specific musical/work, initiate a keyword search that includes the title of the work and composer's last name (optional) and select the material type, "audiovisuals"

Related Links:

  • Complete list of DVDs at the Jones Music Library (includes operas, musicals, and other genres) in call number order
  • List of musicals and musical films at the Jones Music Library.   This list is not comprehensive.  Please search OPAL by title (limited to audiovisuals) before concluding that the library does not hold it.

Streaming Audio & Video Resources

The Jones Music Library subscribes to the following online streaming audio & video services.  

FILMS ON DEMAND

The Ritter Library subscribes to a digital film collection, Films on Demand, which includes educational videos produced by Films for the Humanities & Science and related producers.    The Music & Dance Video Collection includes educational videos related to music theatre well as a few productions.  For example, it includes the series Broadway: The American Musical and selected Gilbert and Sullivan productions from the Stratford Festival.