Searching the Library Catalog by Subject
To locate books about a specific person or topic, use the Subject Search in the OPAL Library Catalog. Each book has been tagged with specific subject headings that describe its content.
There are a variety of subject headings that pertain to music theatre.
- Musicals
- Musicals--History and Criticism
- Musicals--United States--History and Criticism
- Musicals--New York (state)--New York--History and Criticism
- Musicals--Bibliography
- Musicals--Stories, plots, etc.
- Musicals--Librettos
- Musicals--Production and Direction
- Musicals--Stage Guides
- Musicals--Auditions
- Musical Theater
- Musical Films
- Musical Films--History and Criticism
- Musical Films--United States--History and Criticism
To find books about a composer's songs, use the composer's name followed by "songs."
Music Reference
- Grove Music OnlineGrove is the premier English-language encyclopedia of music. It includes signed articles, works lists, and bibliographies on 20,000 composers, locations, periods, instruments, terms, and other subjects.
- Music Online: Classical Music ReferenceSearch the full-text of music reference titles including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
- Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicA comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
- Music Online: African American Music ReferenceAfrican American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
- IPA SourceA service that provides translations and phonetic (IPA) transcriptions of thousands of songs and arias.
Important Call Numbers
Sources such as encyclopedias and select bibliographies/guides will be located in the reference collection.
|
Call Number |
Genre |
| ML 48-50 | Translations of opera texts & librettos |
| ML 54.6 | Translations of vocal texts |
| ML 102.M88 | Dictionaries/Encyclopedias |
| ML 128 M78 | Bibliographies/Literature guides |
| ML 820-950 | Singing and vocal techniques |
| ML 1711, ML 2054 | General history of the musical |
| MT 95 | Plots |
| MT 955 | Production |
Catalogs
- OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowCatalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
Call Numbers
Books and printed music are arranged according to the Library of Congress' Classification System. The library has circulating and non-circulating (reference) collections. Each collection is divided in to three sections.
- M = Printed music/scores (organized by instrument/genre)
- ML = Books about music and musicians
- MT = Books on music theory, pedagogy, and technique
The Jones Music Library has distinct collections for music education and music therapy resources. A complete description of the library's collections may be found here.
