Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the links below to access databases that are appropriate for conducting research on topics related to Music Theatre.
If an article listed in these resources is not available electronically or owned by a BW Library in print, you can request a copy using the interlibrary loan request form.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance provides full text of journal articles on all aspects of theater and performance, plus indexing for books, book articles and dissertation abstracts. IBTD with Full Text is a multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool for theater students, educators and professionals.
Music Index Online
A subject-author guide to music periodical literature. Covering over 700 periodicals in all styles and genres of music, the Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Provides access to over 15,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Online resource for film and television research. It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Play Index (H.W. Wilson)
Play Index searches over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject; style; genre; or cast type.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
An attempt to index all significant music literature from 1967 to the present, supplemented by selected records going as far back as the 16th century, RILM provides a citation and usually an abstract for over 1,000,000 books, articles, dissertations, and other writings.
Academic Search Complete
A very large, multi-disciplinary periodical index with lots of full text available. Valuable for music research, particularly because of its currency, which is much better than either Music Index or RILM Abstracts.
Instructions for Remote Authentication
Click above for quick instructions on how to access Ritter Library databases from off-campus.