Skip to main content

Jones Music Library Online Resources: Online resources

Collections

STREAMING VIDEO SERVICES

Met Opera on Demand
Features video and audio from the illustrious company's archive, including most of the recent hi-def videos, older videos produced for public television, and audio of over 350 radio broadcasts going back to 1935. [This link should now work from off-campus. Please note that the direct address for this service does NOT have www in it before metopera.org. If you add the www there, it will not work.].
Naxos Video Library
Naxos Video Library offers more than 1,800 full-length videos of live classical music concerts, operas, ballets, and documentaries.

STREAMING AUDIO SERVICES

Naxos Music Library 
An online audio service featuring over 500,000 tracks of streaming audio.  Mostly classical, some world music and jazz.
Naxos Jazz Library
An adjunct to Naxos Music Library, NJL features 100,000 tracks by acclaimed artist from all corners of the jazz world.
 
Naxos Music Library World
Access to all genres of world recordings. Includes labels such as African Music Network, Global Beats, Harmonia Mundi, Shamrock Records, and Smithsonian Folkways among others.

MUSIC REFERENCE

Grove Music Online
Grove is the premier English-language encyclopedia of music. It includes signed articles, works lists, and bibliographies on 20,000 composers, locations, periods, instruments, terms, and other subjects.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature 
An attempt to index all significant music literature in the years covered (1969 to the present), RILM provides a citation and usually an abstract for thousands of books, articles, dissertations, and other writings.
Music Index Online 
A subject-author guide to music periodical literature. Covering over 700 periodicals in all styles and genres of music, the Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
Music Online Reference
A suite of four databases comprising the Garland EncyclopediaBaker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, other reference books, and a library of classical scores.
Search all four collections at once or use the links below
IPA Source
A service that provides translations and phonetic (IPA) transcriptions of thousands of songs and arias.

Other resources

For online resources other than music, please see http://libguides.bw.edu/databases 

OR 

http://libguides.bw.edu/databasesubjects (for a subject listing).

Jones Music Library

Jones Music Library
440-826-2375
jonesml@bw.edu