Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the links below to access databases that are appropriate for conducting research on topics related to Music Since 1900. If an article listed in these resources is not available electronically or owned by a BW Library in print, you can request a copy using the interlibrary loan request form.
Music Index Online
Covering over 700 periodicals in all styles and genres of music, the Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music and musicians.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
An attempt to index all significant music literature from 1967 to the present, supplemented by selected records going as far back as the 16th century, RILM provides a citation and usually an abstract for over 1,000,000 books, articles, dissertations, and other writings.
New York Times
Through BW's subscription, you can get an account with nearly unlimited access to the New York Times and its archive.
Academic Search Complete
A very large, multi-disciplinary periodical index with lots of full text available. Valuable for music research, particularly because of its currency, which is much better than either Music Index or RILM Abstracts.
A vast storehouse of high-quality, peer-reviewed scholarship. Not always easy to search so you may be better off starting with other databases.
Dissertation Abstracts (UMI Dissertations Express)
Index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe. Purchase print or electronic copies via credit card. Also see Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center for the OhioLINK repository for the State of Ohio.
An enormous database of library holdings in all formats from around the world. Very helpful for locating items that are not in OhioLINK.
Instructions for Remote Authentication
Click above for quick instructions on how to access Ritter Library databases from off-campus.
Oxford Music Online
Grove is the premier English-language encyclopedia of music. It includes signed articles, works lists, and bibliographies on 20,000 composers, locations, periods, instruments, terms, and other subjects.
Music Online: Classical Music Reference
Search the full-text of music reference titles including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
Music Online: African American Music Reference
African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
A service that provides translations and phonetic (IPA) transcriptions of thousands of songs and arias.