Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Therapy: Journals

A Library Research Guide for Music Therapy students. This guide is designed to help you navigate the wide variety of Music Therapy resources available through the Jones Music Library.

Full-Text Finder for Periodicals

Search a complete list of print and electronic holdings accessible through BW Libraries.

Within this list you may search by title, browse by discipline, and limit by type of publication (journal, newsletter, book etc.)

 Select “Full-Text Access” to see BW Libraries' print & full-text holdings for each title.

To search about a specific topic across multiple journal titles, select the Database tab above.  If an article is not available electronically or  accessible in print form at a BW Library, you can request a copy using the interlibrary loan request form.

JSTOR

JSTOR includes over 1,400 leading academic journals and primary source materials valuable for academic work, including the most current issues of 174 journals. The entire archive is full-text searchable, includes images and multi-media files, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. JSTOR is not a current issue database but instead provides access to complete runs of back issues. Issues published in the last 3-5 years are not usually available. For instance, JSTOR includes the full text of The New England Quarterly from its first issue in 1928 through 2008.”

JSTOR includes a substantial collection of music-related journals.

Journals - Music Therapy - Full-text

Many journal titles that relate to Music Therapy are available online. The journals listed below are available via one of the OhioLINK or Ritter Library database subscriptions.  

  • To search for articles on a specific topic across a variety of periodicals, use the databases listed under the “Database Tab.”  
  • Print journal holdings related to MusicTherapy are listed to the right.

Music Therapy Research CD-ROM

The Jones Music Therapy collection includes a CD-ROM titled Music Therapy Research: quantitative and qualitative foundations CD-ROM, 1964-2003.   Located in the Jones Reserve Collection, the CD-ROM contains full text articles originally published in three music journals (listed below) from 1964-2003 and recorded music therapy examples.

Call Number:  Jones Reserve ML3920 .M8742 2004 

Includes:

  • Journal of Music Therapy (1964-2003)
  • Music Therapy (1981-1996)
  • Music Therapy Perspectives (1982-1984, 1986-2003).

Journals - Music Therapy - Print holdings

Journals related to Music Therapy may be found in the Jones Music Therapy collection.  Library holdings are listed for each title.   A few titles in the Jones Music Therapy Collection have not been cataloged.