Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indigenous music encompasses a spectrum of musical expression as diverse as the array of indigenous cultures which span the globe. Below is a broad overview of sources and search tips designed to direct students towards resources about Indigenous music.
Approaches to Searching
To locate books about a specific person or topic, use the Subject Search in the OPAL Library Catalog. Each book has been tagged with specific subject headings that describe its content.
Subject headings for groups of people not associated with a nationality are relatively new, and practices are still being worked out. Some headings that have been applied to Indigenous music, though, include:
- Indians of North America -- Music
- Indians of North America-- Music-- History and criticism
- Indigenous Peoples -- Music
- Indigenous Peoples -- Music -- History and criticism
- Folk Music -- Africa
- World Music -- History and criticism
- World Music-- Performance
OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
Books and printed music are arranged according to the Library of Congress' Classification System. The library has circulating and non-circulating (reference) collections. Each collection is divided in to three sections.
- M = Printed music/scores (organized by instrument/genre)
- ML = Books about music and musicians
- MT = Books on music theory, pedagogy, and technique
The Jones Music Library has distinct collections for music education and music therapy resources. A complete description of the library's collections may be found here.
There are many online resources devoted to diversity in music. Here are just a few essential ones.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
Oxford Music Online
Although OMO (incorporating the Gorve Dictionary of Music) initially focused almost exclusively on Western art music, its focus expanded in more recent editions, and it now provides valuable content across a range of cultures.
Bloomsbury Popular Music
Features a substanital encyclopedia of popular music, the 33 1/3 book series didicated to coverage of rock and pop albums, and schoarly books.
Institute for Composer Diversity
The ICD maintains databases of diverse composers and their works. You can search by composer identity, instrument, ensemble, and musical grade level.
Native Drums is a website dedicated to documenting the heritage of First Nations' music in Canada. The website includes videos, in-depth interviews, articles, and downloadable resource kits for teachers.
American Indian Music and Sound | Smithsonian Music
The Smithsonian Institute's website houses a collection of information and performances pertaining to the music of Native American cultures.
Omaha Indian Music- Library of Congress
The Library of Congress maintains a digitized collection of wax cylinder recordings of Omaha Native Americans originally recorded in the 18900s.
60 Years of Indigenous Music Game Changers
CBC has compiled a web resource featuring information about indigenous performers from around the globe.
Naxos Music Library World
Access to all genres of world recordings. Includes labels such as African Music Network, Global Beats, Harmonia Mundi, Shamrock Records and Smithsonian Folkways among others.
Naxos Jazz Library
An adjunct to Naxos Music Library, NJL features 100,000 tracks by acclaimed artist from all corners of the jazz world.