Books
Important links for book research:
Use Interlibrary loan to request print books that are not available through Ritter/OhioLINK .
THE 270 Suggestions
World Clothing and Fashion by
Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this work explores the diverse and colourful history of human attire. From prehistoric times to the age of globalization, articles cover the evolution of clothing utility, style, production, and commerce, including accessories (shoes, hats, gloves, handbags, and jewellery) for men, women, and children. Dress for different climates, occupations, recreational activities, religious observances, rites of passages, and other human needs and purposes - from hunting and warfare to sports and space exploration - are examined in depth and detail. Fashion and design trends in diverse historical periods, regions and countries, and social and ethnic groups constitute a major area of coverage, as does the evolution of materials (from animal fur to textiles to synthetic fabrics) and production methods (from sewing and weaving to industrial manufacturing and computer-aided design). Dress as a reflection of social status, intellectual and artistic trends, economic conditions, cultural exchange, and modern media marketing are recurring themes. Influential figures and institutions in fashion design, industry and manufacturing, retail sales, production technologies, and related fields are also covered.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2013-11-30
Millennial Stages by
A major figure in the world of theater as critic, playwright, scholar, teacher, director, actor, and producer, Robert Brustein offers a unique perspective on the American stage and its artists. In this wise, witty, and wide-ranging collection of recent writings, Brustein examines crucial issues relating to theater in the post-9/11 years, analyzing specific plays, emerging and established performers, and theatrical production throughout the world. Brustein relates our theater to our society in a manner that reminds us why the performing arts matter. Millennial Stages records Brustein's thinking on the important issues "roiling the national soul+? at the start of the twenty-first century. His opening section explores the connections between theater and society, theater and politics, and theater and religion, and it is followed by reviews of such landmark productions as The Producers and Spamalot, Long Day's Journey into Night and King Lear. In his final section, Brustein reflects on people and places of importance in the world of theater today, including Marlon Brando and Arthur Miller and Australia and South Africa.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2008
The Trick of Singularity by
Because it appears in a relatively clean and dated version in the Folio, Twelfth Night seems to be exempt from arguments for variant texts - but there are significant and persistent variations represented in the performance editions. Osborne's careful reading of these provides a crucial bridge linking theatre history and textual criticism. She employs a wide variety of approaches and disciplines - Shakespearean and Renaissance studies, theatre history, gender studies, contemporary literary criticism, and cultural history - to provide a fresh and engaging yet rigorous view. Although she focuses on Twelfth Night, Osborne's argument applies more broadly to the history of performance and criticism, including a chapter on video versions of the play. Widely read in Shakespearean and Renaissance scholarship, she employs her archival research on promptbooks, the publishing history of the plays, and the history of Shakespearean production to accomplish a major job of scholarly integration and analysis of Shakespearean drama in performance.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 1996
Twelfth Night by
Twelfth Night is one of the most accessible and yet elusive of Shakespeare's plays. It has enjoyed enormous popularity in performance, but it continues to challenge students. This guide provides a thorough introduction to the play. Included are chapters on the play's background, contexts, themes, dramatic art, critical reception, and performance history. The volume cites current scholarship and closes with a bibliography.Twelfth Night is one of the most accessible yet elusive of Shakespeare's plays. It has enjoyed enormous popularity in performance, but it continues to challenge students. It has experienced numerous revivals and has provoked some of the most brilliant critical responses from Shakespeare's critics. Written for students and general readers, this guide is a comprehensive introduction to Shakespeare's play.The volume begins with a look at the play's textual history. This is followed by an exploration of its historical and cultural contexts and its sources and analogues. The book next turns to Shakespeare's dramatic art and then examines his themes of identity, sexuality, and madness. The final chapters look at the critical response to the play and give special attention to the play's performance history. The guide closes with a bibliography.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2005-12-30
Clothing and Landscape in Victorian England by
In the context of this rapidly changing world, Rachel Worth explores the ways in which the clothing of the rural working classes was represented visually in paintings and photographs and by the literary sources of documentary, autobiography and fiction, as well as by the particular pattern of survival and collection by museums of garments of rural provenance. Rachel Worth explores ways in which clothing and how it is represented throws light on wider social and cultural aspects of society, as well as how 'traditional' styles of dress, like men's smock-frocks or women's sun-bonnets, came to be replaced by 'fashion'. Her compelling study, with black & white and colour illustrations, both adds a broader dimension to the history of dress by considering it within the social and cultural context of its time and discusses how clothing enriches our understanding of the social history of the Victorian period.
Call Number: ebook and print (GT 737 .W67 2018)Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Fashion in Detail: 1600 - 1800 by
This beautifully illustrated book reveals the sharp pleats, high collars, gleaming pastes, colourful beads, elaborate buttons and intricate lacework that make up some of the garments in the Victoria and Albert Museum's extensive fashion collection. With an expertly written text by one of the museum's fashion curators and exquisite colour photography of garment details, complemented by line drawings and photographs, the reader has the unique opportunity to examine up close historical clothing that is often too fragile to be on display. It is an inspirational resource for students, collectors, designers and anyone who is fascinated by fashion and costume. This new edition features an updated design, fresh content and new research, and an introduction that focuses on the makers and processes involved in producing 18th-century fashion.
Call Number: GT 736 .N67 2018Publication Date: 2018-06-19
Nineteenth Century Fashion in Detail by
The bestselling books in the acclaimed Fashion in Detail series are now available with gorgeous new covers. The series features the V & A's world famous collection of historical dress in glorious close-up, with line drawings showing the construction of the complete garment. As part of the V&A Fashion in Detail series, this book displays the opulence and diversity of clothing in the nineteenth century through exquisite colour photography, specially commissioned line drawings of the garments and authoritative text. Illustrating delicate embroidery on neoclassical gowns, Liberty & Co. smocking, vibrant colour on crinoline and bustles and elegant men's tailoring, Nineteenth-Century Fashion in Detail brings the period to life.
Call Number: GT 595 .J64 2009Publication Date: 2009-04-01
20th-Century Fashion in Detail (Victoria and Albert Museum) by
Revealing the elaborate embroidery, intricate pleats and daring cuts that make up some of the 20th century's most beautiful garments, this book explores the specific techniques used by couturiers as tastes and textile technologies evolved. Work by designers such as Mariano Fortuny, Madeleine Vionnet, Paul Poiret, Hubert de Givenchy, Mary Quant, Yves Saint Laurent and Vivienne Westwood is rediscovered, and exquisite haute-couture pieces, from sequinned Chanel trouser suits and richly embroidered Schiaparelli jackets to striking Balenciaga creations and Dior evening gowns, are examined. Part of the 'Fashion in Detail' series, this updated edition features a revised introduction and list of designers followed by chapters dedicated to a particular technique. Each garment is illustrated through detailed photography and line drawings and is accompanied by a commentary by leading experts in textiles and fashion. An extraordinary exploration of the techniques used by couturiers in the construction of these exceptional garments, 20th-Century Fashion in Detail will delight all followers of fashion.
Call Number: TT 507 .W4555 2018Publication Date: 2018-10-16
The Decorated Tenement by
Winner of the International Society of Place, Landscape, and Culture Fred B. Kniffen Award A reexamination of working-class architecture in late nineteenth-century urban America As the multifamily building type that often symbolized urban squalor, tenements are familiar but poorly understood, frequently recognized only in terms of the housing reform movement embraced by the American-born elite in the late nineteenth century. This book reexamines urban America's tenement buildings of this period, centering on the immigrant neighborhoods of New York and Boston. Zachary J. Violette focuses on what he calls the "decorated tenement," a wave of new buildings constructed by immigrant builders and architects who remade the slum landscapes of the Lower East Side of Manhattan and the North and West Ends of Boston in the late nineteenth century. These buildings' highly ornamental facades became the target of predominantly upper-class and Anglo-Saxon housing reformers, who viewed the facades as garish wrappings that often hid what they assumed were exploitative and brutal living conditions. Drawing on research and fieldwork of more than three thousand extant tenement buildings, Violette uses ornament as an entry point to reconsider the role of tenement architects and builders (many of whom had deep roots in immigrant communities) in improving housing for the working poor. Utilizing specially commissioned contem-porary photography, and many never-before-published historical images, The Decorated Tenement complicates monolithic notions of architectural taste and housing standards while broadening our understanding of the diversity of cultural and economic positions of those responsible for shaping American architecture and urban landscapes. Winner of the International Society of Place, Landscape, and Culture Fred B. Kniffen Award
Call Number: ebook and print (NA 7880 .V56 2019)Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Memories of Life on the Farm by
John Calvin Allen, professionally known as J. C., worked as aphotographer for Purdue University from 1909-1952, and operated his ownphotography business until his death in 1976. The J. C. Allen photographsrepresent a historical account of the transition from pioneer practices toscientific methodologies in agriculture and rural communities. During thismajor transitional period for agriculture, tractors replaced horses, hybridcorn supplanted open-pollinated corn, and soybeans changed from a novelty cropto regular rotation on most farms. During this time, purebred animals withbetter genetic pedigrees replaced run-of-the-mill livestock, and systematic diseaseprevention in cattle, swine, and poultry took place. Allen'sphotographs also document clothing styles, home furnishings, and the itemspeople thought important as they went about their daily lives. Looking closelyat tractors, livestock, wagons, planters, sprayers, harvesting equipment, andcrops gives one a sense of the changing and fast-paced world of agriculture at that time. This volume contains over 900 picturesque images, most never-before-seen, of men, women, and childrenworking on the farm, which remain powerful reminders of life in rural America at theturn of the twentieth century. As old farmhouses and barns fall victim toage, Allen photographs are all that remain. While those people and timesno longer exist today, they do remain "alive" because of the preservation ofthat history on film. A camera in his hands and an eye for photography allowed Allen to create indelible visual histories that continue to tellthe story of agriculture and rural life from long ago.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2019-09-15- 50 Years of Advertising as seen through the eyes of Advertising Age 1930-1980 byCall Number: HF 5811 .F53+Publication Date: 1980
Photography in Nineteenth-Century America by
An exploration of the relationship between photography and American culture during the 19th century. Six essays by scholars, illustrated by almost 250 photographic images - examine the varied ways in which photographs reflected and influenced 19th-century American life.
Call Number: TR 23 .P48 1991+Publication Date: 1991
OhioLINK e-book collections
- American Drama OhioLINK e-book module Curated list of electronic books with subject American Drama
- Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare includes the complete text of many major editions of Shakespeare's works, as well as separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha, related works, adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.
Search the OPAL catalog
You can use the above search box to link to the book catalog. Consider general search terms: costume or dance or theatre. You can also search more specific terms: costume design or modern dance or theatre - history. You may limit for material type: book or ebook and you may sort by date or relevance. Sorting by date returns a result list arranged chronologically by date and sorting by relevance arranges the list by the relevance of the search term(s).
