Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a list of web pages that are useful for conducting research on theatre and dance. Email the librarian listed to your right if you have suggestions for additions, or discover a dead link.
American Variety Stage
The American Variety Stage is a multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini. Groups of theater posters and additional sound recordings will be added to this anthology in the future.
The Costume Page.
A directory of thousands of costume and costuming-related links, for the benefit of those who make and/or study costumes. It includes sites for costumers, students, historical re-enactors, science fiction fans, dancers, theatrical costumers, and those interested in fashion, textile art, and costume history. Maintained by a hobbyist.
Internet Shakespeare Editions
ISE delivers open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources with the highest standards of scholarship, design, and usability. Includes sections on Shakespeare's works, his plays in performance and his life and times
Jacob’s Pillow Dance Interactive
Collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob's Pillow from the 1930's - present.
The Kent State Museum
The Kent State Museum contains important collections of fashion and decorative arts. Its eight galleries feature changing exhibitions of work by many of the world's great artists and designers. Look at the Collections menu to see designer and historical costumes.
Performing Arts in America 1875-1923
A database of 16,000 objects (printed material, audio, and video) from "the Broadway theater and Tin Pan Alley to the art of dancer Loie Fuller and composer Charles Griffes." Searchable; and browsable by name, title, subject, and format (books, clippings, photographs, manuscripts, moving images, music, posters and lobby cards, programs, recorded sounds). Includes sections on dance, music, and theatrical productions. From the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.
Victoria and Albert Museum
The V&A is the world’s leading museum of art and design, housing a permanent collection of over 2.3 million objects that span over 5,000 years of human creativity. The Museum holds some of the greatest resources for the study of architecture, furniture, fashion, textiles, photography, sculpture, painting, jewellery, glass, ceramics, book arts, Asian art and design, theatre and performance.