Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Theatre: Jack Lee Collection

A Library Research Guide for Music Theatre students. This guide is designed to help you navigate the wide variety of Music Theatre resources available through the Jones Music Library.

Description of Jack Lee Collection

This collection consists primarily of scores and scripts collected by Jack Lee during his 50-year career in the musical theater. Included are some very rare materials such as conductor's scores used in productions on Broadway and elsewhere. There are also some books and graphic materials such as posters, including some signed by various luminaries.

Among the scores and scripts are some unpublished materials and others that include many annotations about cuts, staging, and other details of production. Some are inscribed to Jack Lee by those involved in the productions. Eight boxes and five binders of sheet music include some manuscripts of songs and other materials. The collection includes a collection of sheet music (some covers only, others complete) relating to Madame Vestris, a prominent London singer and impresario of the early 19th century. Most of these are English imprints and appear to be quite rare in the United States.

Some highlights of the Jack Lee Collection