Catalogs
- OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
Important Call Numbers
| Horn | Trumpet | Trombone | Tuba | |
| Solos and etudes | M 80-84 | M 85-89 | M 90-94 | M 95-99 |
| Orchestral excerpts | M 80.5 | M 85.5 | M 90.5 | M 95.5 |
| Solo with piano | M 255-259 | M 260-261 | M 262-263 | M 264-265 |
| Duets (any 2 brass instruments) | M 289.4 | M 289.4 | M 289.4 | M 289.4 |
| Concertos/full orchestra | M 1028-1029 | M 1030-1031 | M 1032-1033 | M 1034 T79 - M 1035 T79 |
| Concertos/string orchestra | M 1128-1129 | M 1132-1133 | M 1134 T79 - M 1135 T79 |
|
ENSEMBLE
|
|
| TRIOS | M 357.7; M 358-59 - may include woodwinds |
| QUARTETS | M 457.7; M 458-59 - may include woodwinds |
| QUINTETS | M 557.4; M 558-59 - may include woodwinds |
| SEXTETS | M 657.4; M 658-59 - may include woodwinds |
| SEPTETS | M 757.4; M 758-59 - may include woodwinds |
| OCTETS | M 857.4; M 858-59 - may include woodwinds |
| NONETS | M 957.4; M 958-59 - may include woodwinds |
The Orchestra Musician's CD Library
Complete sets of original orchestral parts and full scores from the great symphonic and operatic repertoire are available on CD-ROM in the Jones Music Library. Sheet music pages may be printed out or downloaded. For a complete list of parts, see the OPAL Library catalog record for the The orchestra musician's CD-ROM library.
Searching the Library Catalog for Scores
To locate printed music for a specific instrumentation, you may use the subject search in the OPAL Catalog. Each resource has been tagged with specific subject headings that describe its content. Bibliographies & Repertoire Guides tab in this guide.
Subject headings for printed music typically use the name of the instrument(s) followed by the word music (e.g. piano music, flute music) To find duets for two distinct instruments, use the the following form:
- Trumpet music
- Tuba and violin music
Duets of the same instrument will be listed under the name of the instrument, followed by the word "music." Ensembles of more than two brass instruments, will typically be under the subect "Brass" followed by the genre term (quintets, quartets) and instrumentation
- Trumpet music -- Trumpets 2
- Brass Trios Horn Trombone Trumpet
- Brass Quintets (Trumpets 5)
Call Numbers
Books and printed music are arranged according to the Library of Congress' Classification System. The library has circulating and non-circulating (reference) collections. Each collection is divided in to three sections.
- M = Printed music/scores (organized by instrument/genre)
- ML = Books about music and musicians
- MT = Books on music theory, pedagogy, and technique
The Jones Music Library has distinct collections for music education and music therapy resources. A complete description of the library's collections may be found here.
Classical Scores Online
There are a wide variety of public domain scores available on the Internet. The Loeb Music Library at Harvard University provides a more comprehensive list of digital scores collections available on the web. This is a list of more substantial collections.
- Online Resources for Music Scholars: Digital ScoresAuthoritative, up-to-date source for worldwide links to non-commercial Web sites offering digitized scores and sheet music, maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.
- Classical Scores LibraryLarge and expanding collection of both in-copyright and public domain editions and manuscripts of music scores, mostly from the classical repertory. Includes works by major and lesser-known composers spanning the Renaissance to the 21st century in full, study, and piano-vocal scores, and piano reductions.
- Musical Scores (Eastman School of Music)A collection of public domain scores from the collections of the Sibley Music Library, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester.
- Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP)Canadian Web site sponsored by the International Music Score Library Project and dedicated to creating "a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge."
- Sheet Music ConsortiumContains tens of thousands of images of sheet music from collections throughout the United States. Browsable by title, and searchable by composer, subject, publisher, and date. Hosted by the University of California, Los Angeles.
