MUC 321 Spring 2018

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE

A large multi-disciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 periodicals and provides some full text for 6,100 titles. Content goes back as far as 1887 and as current as last week. This is one of the largest sources of full text for the B-W community. It can also provide more current indexing than Music Index and RILM, which often have a substantial lag time. Because Music Index and RILM are now available on the same Ebscohost platform, you can search all three simultaneously.

Access Academic Search Complete

SEARCHING TIPS

• Use the Advanced Search mode
• Note that you can limit a search by language, date, and publication type, among other criteria
• Select a Field is usually the broadest search type and is not a bad way to start
• You may want to make your search more specific at some point by selecting an index such as Subject, Author or Title
• Use "Indexes" and "Subject Terms" to find correct forms of search terms
• The "Cited References" function allows you to find other works that cite the work in question
• Use "Choose Databases" to also search Music Index, RILM Abstracts, and other Ebscohost databases at the same time
• Set up your own personal account on Ebscohost to enable features like saving items to a personal folder for later reference
• Note that Academic Search Complete uses its own citation style. Be sure to reformat citations before you put them in a bibliography.

LEXIS/NEXIS ACADEMIC

Lexis/Nexis is a large database of news, legal, and business sources. In music, it is valuable for newspapers and possibly for research on the music business or intellectual property law. It contains a lot of full text, including the most complete and current coverage at B-W of the New York Times. I use it mostly for full text of Times articles that I have found cited elsewhere, but you can certainly search it as well.

Access Lexis/Nexis Academic

SEARCHING TIPS

•  The interface for Lexis/Nexis is not the most user-friendly. Try the EasySearch mode to start with.
• If you want to search a particular publication, you can enter the title in the search box or you can start atRitter Library's periodicals list, find the title you want, and then click on the link to search Lexis

OhioLINK ELECTRONIC JOURNAL CENTER

Although the number of music journals (over 25) indexed by the EJC is small compared to databases like Music Indexor RILM, the service is significant because of its reliable, cover-to-cover full text for the journals it does include. Those journals tend also to be important, peer-reviewed scholarly journals. 

Access the Electronic Journal Center

SEARCHING TIPS

• You may be more likely to get here indirectly via the FindIt button in another database, but you can also search the EJC directly.
• Note that you can "subscribe" to a journal alert service via an RSS feed. This service will tell you automatically as soon as new content is added to a journal. Kind of like subscribing to a journal blog.

REPERTOIRE INTERNATIONAL DE LA PRESSE MUSICALE (RIPM)

RIPM is a cooperative venture on the part of several societies to index the contents of historical journals from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. RIPM currently indexes over 120 journals that are, for the most part, indexed nowhere else. Coverage is very international with broad coverage of European publications. Most journals are indexed complete, from first issue to last.

B-W does not subscribe to RIPM in any form.