Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How do I find auditions?
Backstage's auditions for musical theater span the entire country, including national tours, Broadway, off-broadway and off-off-broadway productions. Find the weekly print magazine at the Jones Music Library. Backstage.com also includes, The Monologuer, a database of 600 monologues searchable by context, author, play, and keyword.
Actors Equity Casting Call (Member Login Required)
Search for regional auditions based on region, call type, or contract. Search auditions by city.
Playbill Job Listings
Playbill provides a searchable database of job listings. Select "Performer" for a list of auditions and related jobs. Searches may be limited by state, date listed, and job category.
Provides the iActor Online Casting Directory to union members among a wealth of other services
Stage Door Connections
Searchable calendar of acting, dance & vocal auditions.
Call Number: Current issues in Jones Music Library reading area
Provides career advice and casting information and notices. Backstage.com includes, The Monologuer, a database of 600 monologues searchable by context, author, play, and keyword.
Get the Callback by
Call Number: Jones MT 956 .F56 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Broadway Song Companion
Lists repertoire by song style and voice type.
If you know the song you'd like to use for the audition, search the library catalog by song title (or song title and composer) to start. Limit your search to Music Scores. Anthologies of songs may be browsed at M1507.
If you need help selecting a song, try browsing through one or more of the following collections:
Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology
This substantial anthology may be found on the Musical theatre permanent reserve at the Jones Music Library's Circulation Desk. Indexes to these volumes by voice type (links are provided below) are available online. A Series Guides and Complete Song Index is also available.
- Soprano; 1986 ed.: vol. 1, 2, 3, 4, & 5 (rev. edition)
- Mezzo-soprano/belter: 1986 ed.: vol. 1, 2, 3, 4, & 5 (rev. edition)
- Tenor: vol. 1, 2, 3, 4, & 5 (rev. edition)
- Baritone/Bass: 1986 ed.: vol. 1, 2, 3, 4, & 5 (rev. edition)
- Duets: vol. 1; vol. 2
First Book of Broadway Solos
The Actor’s Songbook