Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Theatre: Journals & Reviews

A Library Research Guide for Music Theatre students. This guide is designed to help you navigate the wide variety of Music Theatre resources available through the Jones Music Library.

Full-Text Finder for Periodicals

Search a complete list of print and electronic holdings accessible through BW Libraries.

Within this list you may search by title, browse by discipline, and limit by type of publication (journal, newsletter, book etc.)

 Select “Full-Text” to see a complete description of BW Libraries' print & full-text holdings for each title.

To search about a specific topic across multiple journal titles, select the Database tab above.  If an article is not available electronically or  accessible in print form at a BW Library, you can request a copy using the interlibrary loan request form.

Finding Reviews

Newspapers are the primary source of reviews of concerts, plays, musicals, and dance productions.   The following resources provide access to the full-text of local and international  newspapers and music-related publications which include reviews. 

Journals -- Music Theatre

The following journals related to music theatre are available through BW Libraries.

  • After choosing a title, select "Full Text Access" to view print and full-text holdings..
  • To search for articles on a specific topic across a variety of music periodicals, use the databases listed under the “Database Tab.” 

JSTOR

JSTOR includes over 1,400 leading academic journals and primary source materials valuable for academic work, including the most current issues of 174 journals. The entire archive is full-text searchable, includes images and multi-media files, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. JSTOR is not a current issue database but instead provides access to complete runs of back issues. Issues published in the last 3-5 years are not usually available. For instance, JSTOR includes the full text of The New England Quarterly from its first issue in 1928 through 2008.”

JSTOR includes a substantial collection of music-related journals.