Woodwind Instruments Guide

A subject-author guide to music periodical literature. Covering over 700 periodicals in all styles and genres of music, the Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.

An attempt to index all significant music literature from 1967 to the present, supplemented by selected records going as far back as the 16th century, RILM provides a citation and usually an abstract for over 1,000,000 books, articles, dissertations, and other writings.

A very large, multi-disciplinary periodical index with lots of full text available. Valuable for music research, particularly because of its currency, which is much better than either Music Index or RILM Abstracts.

An enormous database of library holdings in all formats from around the world. Very helpful for locating items that are not in OhioLINK.

Grove is the premier English-language encyclopedia of music. It includes signed articles, works lists, and bibliographies on 20,000 composers, locations, periods, instruments, terms, and other subjects.

Search the full-text of music reference titles including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.

A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.

African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

A service that provides translations and phonetic (IPA) transcriptions of thousands of songs and arias.