Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching the Library Catalog for Scores
To locate printed music for a specific instrumentation, you may use the subject search in the OPAL Catalog. Each resource has been tagged with specific subject headings that describe its content. For comprehensive repertoire lists for ensembles, see the Bibliographies & Repertoire Guides tab in this guide.
Subject headings for printed music typically use the name of the instrument(s) followed by the word music (e.g. piano music, flute music) To find duets for two distinct instruments, use the the following form:
- Bassoon music
- Clarinet and oboe music
Ensembles of more than two brass instruments, will typically be under the subect "Woodwind" followed by the genre term (quintets, quartets) and instrumentation
- Woodwind trios
- Woodwind quartets (bassoon, oboe, clarinet, saxophone)
Classical Scores Online
There are a wide variety of public domain scores available on the Internet. The Loeb Music Library at Harvard University provides a more comprehensive list of digital scores collections available on the web. This is a list of more substantial collections.
Online Resources for Music Scholars: Digital Scores
Authoritative, up-to-date source for worldwide links to non-commercial Web sites offering digitized scores and sheet music, maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.
Classical Scores Library
Large and expanding collection of both in-copyright and public domain editions and manuscripts of music scores, mostly from the classical repertory. Includes works by major and lesser-known composers spanning the Renaissance to the 21st century in full, study, and piano-vocal scores, and piano reductions.
Musical Scores (Eastman School of Music)
A collection of public domain scores from the collections of the Sibley Music Library, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester.
Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP)
Canadian Web site sponsored by the International Music Score Library Project and dedicated to creating "a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge."
Sheet Music Consortium
Contains tens of thousands of images of sheet music from collections throughout the United States. Browsable by title, and searchable by composer, subject, publisher, and date. Hosted by the University of California, Los Angeles.
OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
Important Call Numbers
The following tables outline important call numbers for solo and ensemble repertoire for woodwind instruments.
|Solos and etudes
|Solos with piano
The Orchestra Musician's CD Library
Complete sets of original orchestral parts and full scores from the great symphonic and operatic repertoire are available on CD-ROM in the Jones Music Library. Sheet music pages may be printed out or downloaded. For a complete list of parts, see the OPAL Library catalog record for the The orchestra musician's CD-ROM library.