Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the links below to access databases that are appropriate for conducting research on topics related to Music.
If an article listed in these resources is not available electronically or owned by a BW Library in print, you can request a copy using the interlibrary loan request form.
Off-campus access to OhioLINK databases requires that you submit the remote authentication form.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals in the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of articles, books, dissertations, conferences, and other literature on music. [Note: Six simultaneous users limit per institution.]
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Library staff catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.
Academic Search Complete
A very large, multi-disciplinary periodical index with lots of full text available. Valuable for music research, particularly because of its currency, which is much better than either Music Index or RILM Abstracts.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses 1861-present. Full text for most dissertations 1997-present and selective full-text for earlier dissertations. Comprehensive coverage of North American universities and selective coverage worldwide.
Instructions for Remote Authentication
Click above for quick instructions on how to access Ritter Library databases from off-campus.
Oxford Music Online
Grove is the premier English-language encyclopedia of music. It includes signed articles, works lists, and bibliographies on 20,000 composers, locations, periods, instruments, terms, and other subjects.
Music Online: Classical Music Reference
Search the full-text of music reference titles including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
Music Online: African American Music Reference
African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
A service that provides translations and phonetic (IPA) transcriptions of thousands of songs and arias.