Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Collections of Northeast Ohio: Cleveland State University. Michael Schwartz Library

Northeast Ohio is home to many unique music-related collections found in libraries and archives. This display highlights eight Northeast Ohio repositories of music resources.

Catalogs and Finding Aids

Access

Library: Students, faculty and staff with a BW library card may request items through the  Ohio-LINK catalog or check items out by visiting in person (BW library card required.). Courtesy Patrons status is available for Ohio residents.


For information on access to special collections, go to http://library.csuohio.edu/speccoll/

About the CSU Michael Schwartz Library

The Michael Schwartz Library serves the Cleveland State University community.  Its music collection primarily supports classroom instruction and research needs of the music faculty and students enrolled in the Department of Music at Cleveland State University.

The Library's collection is strong in the areas of music education, music history, performance, composition, ethnomusicology, jazz, electronic music and performance. The collection consists of books, periodicals, scores, sound recordings, video recordings and films. The collection of performance scores is strong in both instrumental and vocal music; there is a research collection of composers' collected editions and monuments of music.

Of particular note are the Herbert Elwell Archives, South Indian music collections, and contemporary Polish music. There is also a collection of Senior Projects papers prepared in fulfillment of the requirements for the B.A. degree. The reference collection contains major bibliographies and research guides, discographies and indexes available in English and foreign languages. There are approximately 15,000 volumes of scores; over 7,000 volumes in music history; over 1,900 volumes in music instruction and study; and well over 7,000 recordings

The Schwartz Library's special collections cover many topics within the field of Cleveland history, with special concentrations on the industrial history of Northeast Ohio, Cleveland journalism, and the city's infrastructure.  The following collections are related to music.

Library Photos

Contact

Website: http://library.csuohio.edu/index.html

Contact: : (216) 687-2478 or (216) 687-2479

Address: Cleveland State University Library, 2121 Euclid Ave.
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2214