About the CSU Michael Schwartz Library
The Michael Schwartz Library serves the Cleveland State University community. Its music collection primarily supports classroom instruction and research needs of the music faculty and students enrolled in the Department of Music at Cleveland State University.
The Library's collection is strong in the areas of music education, music history, performance, composition, ethnomusicology, jazz, electronic music and performance. The collection consists of books, periodicals, scores, sound recordings, video recordings and films. The collection of performance scores is strong in both instrumental and vocal music; there is a research collection of composers' collected editions and monuments of music.
Of particular note are the Herbert Elwell Archives, South Indian music collections, and contemporary Polish music. There is also a collection of Senior Projects papers prepared in fulfillment of the requirements for the B.A. degree. The reference collection contains major bibliographies and research guides, discographies and indexes available in English and foreign languages. There are approximately 15,000 volumes of scores; over 7,000 volumes in music history; over 1,900 volumes in music instruction and study; and well over 7,000 recordings
The Schwartz Library's special collections cover many topics within the field of Cleveland history, with special concentrations on the industrial history of Northeast Ohio, Cleveland journalism, and the city's infrastructure. The following collections are related to music.
- Bain Murray Music collectionThis collection documents the life, accomplishments and works of composer Bain Murray (1926–1993).
- Cleveland Chamber Symphony collectionA feature of the Cleveland Arts environment since 1980, the Cleveland Chamber Symphony was founded by Edwin London. The collection consists of 61 boxes of materials, of which the majority are scores. Other materials include audio recordings (reel-to-reel tapes and cassettes), concert programs, office files, and award plaques.
- Cleveland PAND (Performers and Artists for Nuclear Disarmament) CollectionThe Cleveland PAND Collection consists of the Cleveland chapter's organizational documents (rosters, annual reports, meeting minutes, etc.) and promotional leaflets and notes regarding public performances.
- Herbert Elwell ArchiveScores, discs, reel-to-reel tapes, manuscripts, articles, program annotations for the Cleveland Orchestra, and assorted letters and memorabilia belonging to Herbert Elwell (May 10, 1898 - April 17, 1974), a composer, critic, teacher, and important figure in Cleveland's music scene, and donated by Joan Hofer, Elwell's niece.
- Jocelyn Chang and Michael Leese Music CollectionJocelyn Chang, harpist, performed in many contexts with her husband, flutist and composer Michael Leese, and was a longtime member of the Cleveland Chamber Symphony.
Access
Library: Students, faculty and staff with a BW library card may request items through the Ohio-LINK catalog or check items out by visiting in person (BW library card required.). Courtesy Patrons status is available for Ohio residents.
For information on access to special collections, go to http://library.csuohio.edu/speccoll/
Library Photos
Catalogs and Finding Aids
Contact
Website: http://library.csuohio.edu/index.html
Contact: : (216) 687-2478 or (216) 687-2479
Address: Cleveland State University Library, 2121 Euclid Ave.
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2214
