Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Vocal Performance & Opera: Audio & Video

A guide to print and electronic resources related to vocal performance and opera at the Jones Music Library.

Exploring our collection

Streaming Media

Met Opera on Demand

Features video and audio from the illustrious company's archive, including most of the recent hi-def videos, older videos produced for public television, and audio of over 350 radio broadcasts going back to 1935.

Naxos Video Library 

Naxos Video Library offers more than 1,800 full-length videos of live classical music concerts, operas, ballets, and documentaries.

DVDs

The Jones Music Library features a substantial DVD collection which includes many opera productions and live performance recordings. 

To search OPAL for a specific musical/work, initiate a keyword search that includes the title of the work and composer's last name (optional) and select the material type, "audiovisuals"

Related Links:

  • Complete list of DVDs at the Jones Music Library (includes operas, musicals, and other genres) in call number order

BW Films on Demand

Besides a growing DVD collection at the Jones Music Library, BW students and faculty also have access to digital films through BW Films on Demand.    Films on Demand provides access to a variety of films related to Music & Dance, including specific opera and musical theater productions as well as profiles of artists, composers and specific productions. Each title in this collection is described in the OPAL Catalog

Streaming Audio & Video Resources

The Jones Music Library subscribes to the following online streaming audio & video services.  

Masterclass Media Foundation Series

The Jones Music Library's DVD collection includes a growing series of masterclasses published by the Masterclass Media Foundation.  The DVDs may be checked out for in-library use from the Circulation Desk.  The following list summarizes the library's current holdings of Masterclass DVDs related to singing.  However, as the library continually adds to a collection, search the OPAL Catalog by "Masterclass Media" to check for newer titles in this series.