Searching the Library Catalog by Subject
To locate books about a specific person or topic, use the Subject Search in the OPAL Library Catalog. Each book has been tagged with specific subject headings that describe its content.
There are a variety of subject headings that pertain to the voice and opera.
Various sub-categories provide access to more specific resources.
- Opera -- 19th century
- Opera -- Dramaturgy
- Opera -- Italy
- Opera -- Production and direction
- Singing -- Diction
- Singing -- Instruction & study
- Singing -- Physiological aspects
- Singing -- Studies & exercises
To find books about a composer's songs, use the composer's name followed by "songs":
Music Reference
-
Grove Music OnlineGrove is the premier English-language encyclopedia of music. It includes signed articles, works lists, and bibliographies on 20,000 composers, locations, periods, instruments, terms, and other subjects.
-
Music Online: Classical Music ReferenceSearch the full-text of music reference titles including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
-
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicA comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
-
Music Online: African American Music ReferenceAfrican American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
-
IPA SourceA service that provides translations and phonetic (IPA) transcriptions of thousands of songs and arias.
Important Call Numbers
The following table outlines important call numbers for vocal performance & opera. Many of these resources may be found in the reference collection.
|
Call Number |
Genre |
| ML 48 | Translations of opera texts & librettos |
| ML 54.6 | Translations of vocal texts |
| ML 102 | Dictionaries/Encyclopedias |
| ML 128 V87 | Bibliographies/Literature guides |
| ML 121 | Analysis - vocal literature |
| ML 820-950 | Singing and vocal techniques |
| ML 1400-3275 | History & criticism of vocal music |
| ML 1500-1509 | Opera scores |
