Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching the Library Catalog by Subject
To locate books about a specific person or topic, use the Subject Search in the OPAL Library Catalog. Each book has been tagged with specific subject headings that describe its content.
There are a variety of subject headings that pertain to the voice and opera.
Various sub-categories provide access to more specific resources.
To find books about a composer's songs, use the composer's name followed by "songs":
Grove Music Online
Grove is the premier English-language encyclopedia of music. It includes signed articles, works lists, and bibliographies on 20,000 composers, locations, periods, instruments, terms, and other subjects.
Music Online: Classical Music Reference
Search the full-text of music reference titles including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
Music Online: African American Music Reference
African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
A service that provides translations and phonetic (IPA) transcriptions of thousands of songs and arias.
Important Call Numbers
The following table outlines important call numbers for vocal performance & opera. Many of these resources may be found in the reference collection.
||Translations of opera texts & librettos
||Translations of vocal texts
|ML 128 V87
||Analysis - vocal literature
||Singing and vocal techniques
||History & criticism of vocal music