Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a list of web pages that are useful for conducting research on the history of Cleveland, OH. Email the librarian listed to your right if you have suggestions for additions, or discover a dead link.
City of Cleveland
This is the official homepage of the city of Cleveland, Ohio. It contains sections on Community, Business, Visitors, Kids & Teens, and Government.
Cleveland History Blog
News, commentary, information and musings on the history of greater Cleveland and the Western Reserve region of Northeastern Ohio, particularly its bridges, railroads, maps and historic landmarks and events. Using new web-based technologies, such as GIS, to improve libraries' ability to increase access to local history.
Cleveland Memory Project
This is an online collection of materials documenting the history of greater Cleveland. It is based on materials held in the Special Collections of the Michael Schwartz Library at Cleveland State University. It includes newspaper photos, video, audio, and ebooks. A searchable database is available.
Cleveland News Index
The online Cleveland News Index lists citation information for local news stories, feature articles and reviews from:
THE PLAIN DEALER (1983-June 1999),
CLEVELAND MAGAZINE (1983-present),
NORTHERN OHIO LIVE (Sept. 1990-present), and
OHIO MAGAZINE (Oct. 1990-present).
Encyclopedia of Cleveland History
Contains all of the articles from both The 'Encyclopedia of Cleveland History' and 'The Dictionary of Cleveland Biography.' It retains high-resolution versions of the photographs and diagrams found in the original texts, which are available from either the articles or through the Image Gallery.
LiveCleveland! - Cleveland
The Living in Cleveland Center is a 501(c)(3) non-profit community development organization dedicated to promoting the livability of Cleveland neighborhoods. In 2007, the Living in Cleveland Center launched its LiveCLEVELAND! marketing initiative. The foundation of this campaign is the first edition of the LiveCLEVELAND! guide and this ever-evolving website.
Ohio History Central - Cleveland
Ohio History Central is a readily accessible, online resource that documents Ohio's natural history, prehistory, and history through encyclopedic-style entries that are complemented with multimedia elements.
Ohio's Heritage Northeast
Ohio's Heritage Northeast brings digital collections from universities, colleges, and public libraries together into one searchable database. Use the search box above to explore our combined collection of images, sound recordings, videos and texts chronicling northeast Ohio's past.
OhioPix is an image database created by the Ohio Historical Society's Archives/Library to provide online access to photographs, paintings, prints and objects from the Society's collections. The database is searchable by subject, title, photographer and dates. Staff has selected highlights from our photograph collections and created "galleries" to illustrate specific topics or themes.
This Is Cleveland
The official website of the Convention and Visitors Bureau of Greater Cleveland.
Western Reserve Historical Society
In 1867, the Western Reserve Historical Society was founded to preserve and present the history of all of the people of northeast Ohio . Today, it is the largest privately supported regional historical society in the nation.
Wikipedia - History of Cleveland, Ohio
The Wikipedia entry for the history of Cleveland, Ohio.