Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cleveland History: Periodicals

This is a guide to library and online resources pertaining to the history of Cleveland, Ohio.

Search Google Magazines

Many magazines articles are available full-text from Google Book Search.

Google Book Search

Periodicals

This a list of periodicals that focus on Cleveland, or often contain articles about Cleveland.  Some of these periodicals are available in Ritter Library in print form, and others are available online via one of the OhioLINK or Ritter Library database subscriptions.  Use this list if you are wanting to find a particular article in one of these periodicals, are wanting to search for articles by topic in one of these periodicals, or if you just want to browse one of these periodicals.  If you want to do research across many different periodicals on a specific topic relating to the history of Cleveland, use one of the databases listed on the Databases tab.

Cleveland Magazine (1972 - present)
current issues available in print in Ritter Library

Cleveland Scene (2008 - present)
Cleveland Scene was created by the merger of Scene and Free Times in July 2008.

Crain's Cleveland Business (1980 - present)
current issues available in print in Ritter Library
01/03/1994 to present in Nexis Uni

Northern Ohio Live (1980 - May 15, 2009)
OhioLINK holdings of Northern Ohio Live

Ohio History (1887 - present)
1887-2003 issues available on their website.

2007 - present issues available in the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center.

Ohio Magazine (1980 - present)
OhioLINK holdings of Ohio Magazine

Plain Dealer (1847 - present)
current issues available in print in Ritter Library

JSTOR

Baldwin Wallace University is a member of JSTOR, the premium archive of academic journals.  Ritter Library subscribes to all available JSTOR journal collections.  We are able to offer this resource through the support of the University officers and the faculty Student Academic Services Advisory Committee.

“JSTOR is a research and teaching platform for the academic community to discover and preserve scholarly content.  JSTOR includes over 1,400 leading academic journals and primary source materials valuable for academic work, including the most current issues of 174 journals. The entire archive is full-text searchable, includes images and multi-media files, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references.  JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways.  JSTOR is not a current issue database but instead provides access to complete runs of back issues. Issues published in the last 3-5 years are not usually available. For instance, JSTOR includes the full text of The New England Quarterly from its first issue in 1928 through 2008.”

To access JSTOR, go to https://bw.opal-libraries.org/login?url=https://www.jstor.org .

Librarian

Profile Photo
John Curtis
Contact:
Room 222
Ritter Library
Baldwin Wallace University
57 East Bagley Road
Berea, Ohio 44017-2027
(440) 826-3571
Subjects: AMG, ART, ASW, BIO, CAS, CSC, CSD, EDU, GEO, HON, NUR, PAS, PHT, REL