Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the links below to access databases that are appropriate for conducting research on topics related to Music.. If an article listed in these resources is not available electronically or owned by a BW Library in print, you can request a copy using the interlibrary loan request form.
A service that provides translations and phonetic (IPA) transcriptions of thousands of songs and arias.
Music Index Online
A subject-author guide to music periodical literature. Covering over 700 periodicals in all styles and genres of music, the Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
An attempt to index all significant music literature from 1967 to the present, supplemented by selected records going as far back as the 16th century, RILM provides a citation and usually an abstract for over 1,000,000 books, articles, dissertations, and other writings.
Academic Search Complete
A very large, multi-disciplinary periodical index with lots of full text available. Valuable for music research, particularly because of its currency, which is much better than either Music Index or RILM Abstracts.
Dissertation Abstracts (UMI Dissertations Express) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for over two million dissertations and theses. Most of the documents can be ordered from ProQuest, and many include a free 24-page preview.
An enormous database of library holdings in all formats from around the world. Very helpful for locating items that are not in OhioLINK.
Instructions for Remote Authentication
Click above for quick instructions on how to access Ritter Library databases from off-campus.