Overview
Latinx music and musicians span the globe, with concentrations in Europe and the Americas. This page provides some resources and approaches to exploring the many styles and cultures. These are just starting places for you to begin to access the wealth of media and writings about Latinx music.
Approaches to Searching
To locate books about a specific person or topic, use the Subject Search in the OPAL Library Catalog. Each book has been tagged with specific subject headings that describe its content.
Subject headings for groups of people not associated with a nationality are relatively new, and practices are still being worked out. Some headings that have been applied to Latinx music, though, include:
- Hispanic Americans -- Music
- Latin Americans -- United States
General Resources
- Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicA comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
- Oxford Music OnlineAlthough OMO (incorporating the Grove Dictionary of Music) initially focused almost exclusively on Western art music, its focus expanded in more recent editions, and it now provides valuable content across a range of cultures.
- Bloomsbury Popular MusicFeatures a substantial encyclopedia of popular music, the 33 1/3 book series dedicated to coverage of rock and pop albums, and scholarly books.
- Music Online: Classical Music ReferenceSearch the full-text of music reference titles including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
- IPA SourceA service that provides translations and phonetic (IPA) transcriptions of thousands of songs and arias.
- Institute for Composer DiversityThe ICD maintains databases of diverse composers and their works. You can search by composer identity, instrument, ensemble, and musical grade level.
Latino/a Music Resources
There are many online resources devoted to diversity in music. Here are just a few essential ones.
- National Association of Latino Arts and CulturesA non-profit dedicated to advancing Latinx arts and culture in the United States.
- Cuarteto Latino AmericanoLatin American string composers listed alphabetically. Links to composer pages and some PDFs of scores and parts.
- Black and Brown Composers in Baroque Latin AmericaComposers are organized by country. There are brief bibliographic information as well as links and resource recommendations in citation style.
- Catálogo de MúsicaCompiled from the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México. Catalog of composers works organized by genre. Select a call number(signatura) to view more information about the work.
- Music by Latin and Latin-American ComposersList of composers organized by last name that links to works available on the Theodore Front website. Can be organized into instrumentation. Dedicated list of Latin American women composers.
Library Collections
Books
Dissonant Divas in Chicana Music by Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780816680184Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Latin American Classical Composers by Call Number: ML105 .F53 2002ISBN: 0810845172Publication Date: 2002-10-16
Collections
Anthology of Latin American and Iberian Art Songs by Women Composers by Call Number: M1619 .L282 2020ISBN: 9781733903554Publication Date: 2020-04-26
