Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Music Education
Books located in the Kershner Music Education Center have the prefix "Jones Music Education" in the call number. Otherwise, the books are shelved in the Jones Music Library's main collection.
Teaching Music Through Performance Series
The Jones Music Library's Kershner Education Center includes the following collections from the Teaching Music Through Performance Series, published by GIA Music Publications. discusses and analyzes important repertoire for band, choir, orchestra and other ensembles. The materials include analyses and recordings of repertoire as well as significant discussion by key pedagogues in each area. Resource recordings are on the reserve shelf under Jones Music Education Media.
Oxford Music Online
Grove is the premier English-language encyclopedia of music. It includes signed articles, works lists, and bibliographies on 20,000 composers, locations, periods, instruments, terms, and other subjects.
Music Online: Classical Music Reference
Search the full-text of music reference titles including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
Music Online: African American Music Reference
African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
A service that provides translations and phonetic (IPA) transcriptions of thousands of songs and arias.