The User Interface (UI) that you use to search within EBSCO databases will look very different when you return in the fall! As of May 13, 2025, we will be moving to the new EBSCOhost UI.
Old Interface
EBSCO Information Services (EBSCO) provides information resources and tools to libraries, including EBSCOhost, a database platform for searching articles and other materials. EBSCO has used customer feedback, usage data, user research, and usability studies to update the EBSCOhost interface. The primary concerns they aimed to address were:
Watch the video below to see a quick snapshot of their recent changes. As a reminder, our EBSCO databases are not our only databases! To access BW's full list of databases, visit our A-Z Database List.
BACK UP YOUR SAVED ITEMS.
EBSCO has not guaranteed that they will be able to migrate user folders and saved searches. Please be sure to create backups of your MyEBSCO account items prior to the migration on May 13, 2025. EBSCO directs MyEBSCO account holders to move saved items from custom or shared folders to your My Folder location. Items saved under My Folder should be visible in the new UI under My Dashboard in the Saved section under the Records tab. If you have research you will need to access in the future--we suggest both options.
UPDATE YOUR ARTICLE URLS.
When EBSCO migrates its databases on May 13, 2025, all article/URL links will break. You will need to replace existing URLs in your course materials with the updated links once the migration has taken place. EBSCO is changing how permalinks will be created in the new UI. They will adopt an OPID link which includes the BW proxy information within the link. The permalink will look different but should function the same as our former link (https://bw.opal-libraries.org/login?url=) appended to the beginning of any record link. New links will begin: https://research.ebsco.com/c/fkzmwz.
CONTACT THE LIBRARY WITH QUESTIONS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.
If you have any questions about this migration, please contact the library as soon as possible. With changes in staffing levels and two major systems migrations, we will need additional time to respond to requests when we return in the Fall.
