Business

Below are links to web pages that provide useful information for conducting Business research. Email the librarian listed on this page if you have suggestions for additions, or discover a dead link. 

Google Finance: Financial markets, news, portfolio access, stock screeners, domestic trends by economic sector.

Yahoo Finance: News, investing, personal finance, portfolio access.

Securities and Exchange Commission Databases:

• EDGAR - Search and Access: SEC Filings - use this database to located financial information on publicly traded companies or to research investment opportunities.

Daily and Historical Stock Data:

• BigCharts: a service of MarketWatch.
• Earnings Whispers: The Professional's Earnings Expectations.

Classification Systems:

• North American Industry Classification System (NAICS): The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
• Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search: This page allows the user to search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 2,3,4-digit SIC, and to examine the manual structure.
• HTS Online Reference Tool: By Chapter, Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States.
• Standard International Trade Classification, Revision 4: SITC, Rev.4.

Government Sites:

• Census Business Builder: Provides key data for small business owners to create a business plan or to better understand their potential market.
• FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data: provides extensive statistical data on money, banking, & finance; national accounts; population, employment, & labor markets; production & business activity; Prices; international data; U.S. regional data.
• GEOFRED - Geographical Economic Data: detailed economic date presented in map format.
• U.S. Department of Commerce: news, links to bureaus, etc.
• Data.census.gov: a platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau
• Bureau of Economic Analysis: various economic indicators.
• Bureau of Labor Statistics: statistics on inflation, prices, employment, unemployment, pay, and productivity.
• Consumer Expenditure Survey: Provides information on the buying habits of America's consumers, includes data on expenditures, income, and consumer unit characteristics.
• Congressional Research Service: Provides the public with access to recent research products produced by the CRS for committees and Members of both the U. S. House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. Reports are timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis.
• U.S. Customs and Border Protection: Trade resources and publications.
• Economic Census: aggregate data for U.S., can be filtered geographically by state, county, zipcode, MSA, CSA, etc.
• Economic Census - Geographic Area Series - Manufacturing: 2017 data, by state.
• United States Patent and Trademark Office: Search for Patents.

Small Business Resources:

• SBA.GOV - U.S. Small Business Administration: provides assistance to small businesses.
• COSE, Council of Smaller Enterprises: a Northeast Ohio small business resource that offers small businesses health insurance, networking, events & more.
• Small Business Development Center National (SBDCNet) - Demographics: links to federal sources of statistical information for a wide range of demographic and economic topics.
• Small Business Section - USA.gov:  Small business information presented in one-stop web site by U.S. government agencies
• IRS Starting a Small Business:  Important information from the Internal Revenue Service regarding starting a new business

Miscellaneous:

• Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland: serves the Fourth Federal Reserve District, which comprises Ohio, western Pennsylvania, eastern Kentucky, and the northern panhandle of West Virginia.
• Yahoo! Finance Mutual Funds Center: quotes, tools, interactive guide, education.
• Currency Converter: currency calculator tools, plus exchange rates back to 1990.
• Loan Amortization Calculator: shows an amortization schedule as well as payment and interest information for loans.
• BankRate.com: calculators for mortgage, refinancing, credit cards, auto loans, debt managment, retirement, etc.

See also databases: