Flute Materials in the Riemenschneider Bach Institute

Andraud, Albert J., ed. 24 Flute Concert Studies: From J.S. Bach’s Works and Famous Flute Solos. Cincinnati: Albert J. Andraud, 1936. MT345.F58 A52 1936. Circulating.

Full Title Page

$2.50 / 24 Flute Concert Studies / From J.S. Bach's Works / and / Famous Flute Solos / [List of Works - see below ] / Wind Instrument Music Library / Albert J. Andraud / Publisher and Importer / 2671 Erie Ave. / Cincinnati, Ohio

List of Included Works

Listed as written on cover of item

[24 Concert Studies adapted from works of J.S. Bach listed separately from rest of works]

• Bach - Suite in B Minor
• Mozart - Concerto in G major (van Leeuwen)
• Mozart - Concerto in D major (van Leeuwan)
• Mozart - Concerto in C major
• Mozart - Andante in C major
• Andersen - 3 Cadenzas for Mozart Concerto in D
• Tillmetz - Cadenzas for Mozart Concertos in G, D, and Andante in C
• Molique - Concerto in D minor
• Langer - Concerto
• Faure - Fantasie
• Rimsky Korsakoff - The Flight of the Bumblebee
• Bizet - 2 Minuets from l'Arlésienne
• Bizet - Entr'act from Carmen
• Gluck - Silienne
• Chopin - Minute Waltz
• Godard - Légende Pastorale
• Debussy - Afternoon of a Faun
• Saint-Saens - Op. 37 Romance
• Widor - Op. 34 Suite
• Mouquet - La Flûte de Pan
• Quantz - Concerto in G

Abstract

Item begins with 24 studies for flute adapted from a variety of different J.S. Bach works - primarily preludes. Remainder of item contains the works in the order listed on the cover (see "List of Included Works").

Provenance

Donated to the Riemenschneider Bach Institute by former Baldwin Wallace University flute professor William Hebert on an unknown date.

Unique Markings

RBI Ex Libris Plate reads "Ex Libris Albert Riemenschneider"

Stamp on cover reads "From the Library of William J. Hebert"

Stamps on numerous pages throughout item (starting page 5) read "R. CASADESUS. op. 35 Concerto for Flute & Chamber Orchestra (on hire) Version for Flute & Piano $2.00"

Pencil markings in various hands throughout indicate numerous pieces in item have been played and/or practiced

• Pencil markings next to title of each of the 24 Flute Concert Studies appear to be evaluations of a student's performance on each work by an instructor - markings include "excellent", "good", "ok", "maybe", and "bad" (pg. 4-47)
• Penciled measure numbers on every measure of the first movement of Mozart's Concerto in G major (pg. 67-69)
• Pencil markings next to title of each of the Tillmetz Three Cadenzas for Mozart's Flute Concerto in G major and the Cadenza for Mozart's Andante in C major appear to be evaluations of a student's performance on each work by an instructor - all four markings read "ok" (pg. 79-81)
• Pencil marking next to title of Godard's Légende Pastorale reads "a beautiful solo" (pg. 122)

Andraud, Albert J (c.1885-1975) [publisher]

Biography

Albert Andraud was born in France around 1885. He served in the French Army in World War I and briefly traveled to the United States as part of an army band. Andraud moved to the U.S. in 1921 as the principal oboist for the Chicago Opera. He later played oboe in the Cleveland Orchestra before joining the Cincinnati Symphony in 1929. He played with that ensemble until his retirement in 1955. Throughout his career, Andraud became known as an expert on woodwind music and composed, arranged, and published numerous pieces of woodwind-centric chamber music and orchestral studies. He died on April 15, 1975 at Good Samaritan Hospital in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Additional Flute-Related Writings

• Eighteen Trios from the Classic Masters (1934)
• Grand Quartet in E minor for Four Flutes [by Friedrich Kuhlau] (1941)
• Twenty-Two Woodwind Quintets (1958)
• Sonata In A Minor for Oboe (or Flute) and Piano [by Georg Philipp Telemann] (1963)

Further Reading

Andraud, Albert Jean. Ohio, County Naturalization Records (1927), certificate no. 2452543, vol. 207, no. 25005, Cleveland, Cuyahoga County Ohio. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:3QS7-899D-M9D8-6?cc=1987615&wc=4627-1Z9%3A265566401%2C266555601.

Cincinnati Enquirer. “Funeral Rites Tonight for Ex-CSO Oboist.” April 17, 1975. https://cincinnati.newspapers.com/clip/100063290/obituary-for-albert-j-andraud/. 

Handel, George Frideric. Seven Sonatas or Trios for Two Violins or German Flutes with a Thorough Bass for the Harpsichord or Violoncello Compos’d by Mr. Handel. Opera Quinta., 1706. Vault.

Full Title Page

"Seven / Sonatas or Trios / for two Violins or German Flutes / with a Thorough Bass for the / Harpsichord / or / Violoncello / Compos'd by / Mr. Handel / Opera Quinta. / Price 10.s6.d / London. Printed for & Sold by H. Wright, Musick Printer & Instrument maker to his Majesty, at the Harp Hoboy in Catherine Street, in the Strand. where may be had the following Pieces of Musick Compos'd by M. Handel..." [Lists 17 pieces/collections by Handel sold at H. Wright's shop]

List of Included Works

• Trio Sonata in A major (HWV 396)
• Trio Sonata in D major (HWV 397)
• Trio Sonata in E minor (HWV 398)
• Trio Sonata in G major (HWV 399)
• Trio Sonata in G minor (HWV 400)
• Trio Sonata in F major (HWV 401)
• Trio Sonata in B-Flat major (HWV 402)

Abstract

This item consists of three individual parts - violin primo, violin secondo, and basso - for seven Handel Trio Sonatas. There are three booklets, one for each part, all of which have virtually identical covers (see transcript above). The music appears to have been printed using a printing plate of some sort, as evidenced by the indents present around the stave on each page.

Unique Markings

Stamp on lower cover (all 3 parts): "Sold by Wm Robinson Jun MusicSeller 3G8 [or 3GS] Strand near Exeter Hill"

Violin Primo Unique Markings

• RBI Ex libris plate reads "Ex Libris Hans Theodore David"
• Pen marking on upper part of cover reads "No 74"
• Pen marking next to the words "Opera Quinta." on cover reading "1706."
• Pen marking on the lower right corner of the list of Handel pieces on cover reads "No. 653"
• Pen marking on the lower right corner of the list of Handel pieces reads "No. 653"
• Pen marking on upper part of first page reads "No 74 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of fourth page reads "No 75 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of seventh page reads "No 76 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of tenth page reads "No 77 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of fifteenth page reads "No 78 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of twentieth page reads "No 79 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of twenty-fourth page reads "No 80 / Handel"

Violin Secondo Unique Markings

• Pencil markings throughout indicating pieces were practiced or played
• Pen marking on upper part of cover reads "No 74"
• Pen marking on the lower right corner of the list of Handel pieces reads "No. 653"
• Pen marking on upper part of first page reads "No 74 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of fourth page reads "No 75 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of seventh page reads "No 76 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of tenth page reads "No 77 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of fourteenth page reads "No 78 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of eighteenth page reads "No 79 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of twenty-second page reads "No 80 / Handel"

Basso Unique Markings

• Pen marking on upper part of cover reads "No 74"
• Pen marking on the lower right corner of the list of Handel pieces on cover reads "No. 655"
• Pen marking on upper part of second page reads "No 74 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of fourth page reads "No 75 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of sixth page reads "No 76 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of ninth page reads "No 77"
• Pen marking on upper part of tenth page reads "No 77 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of fourteenth page reads "No 78 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of eighteenth page reads "No 79 / Handel"
• Pen marking on upper part of twenty-third page reads "No 80 / Handel"

Handel, George Frideric (1685-1759)

Additional Compositions Featuring the Flute

• Flute Sonata in A minor (HWV 374)
• Flute Sonata in B minor (HWV 367b)
• Flute Sonata in B minor (HWV 376)
• Flute Sonata in D major (HWV 378)
• Flute Sonata in E minor (HWV 359b)
• Flute Sonata in E minor (HWV 375)
• Flute Sonata in E minor (HWV 379)
• Flute Sonata in G major (HWV 363b)

Further Reading

Flower, Newman. George Frideric Handel; His Personality & His Times. London: Waverley Book Co., 1923. http://archive.org/details/georgefridericha00flowuoft.

Harris, Ellen T. George Frideric Handel: A Life with Friends. New York: W. W. Norton & Company, 2014. http://archive.org/details/georgefridericha0000harr.

Handel, George Frideric. The Letters and Writings of George Frideric Handel. Edited by Erich H Müller. New York: Books for Libraries Press, 1970. http://archive.org/details/letterswritingso0000hand.

Hicks, Anthony. “Handel [Händel, Hendel], George Frideric.” Grove Music Online, January 20, 2001. https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.40060.

Keates, Jonathan. Handel, the Man and His Music. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1985. http://archive.org/details/handelmanhismusi0000keat_o6l4.

Lang, Paul Henry. George Frideric Handel. New York: W.W. Norton, 1966. http://archive.org/details/georgefridericha0000lang_e3r4.

Stephen, Leslie, and Sidney Lee, eds. Dictionary of National Biography. Vol. 24. New York: Macmillan and Co., 1890. http://archive.org/details/dictionaryofnati25stepuoft.

Westminster Abbey. “George Frederic Handel.” https://www.westminster-abbey.org/abbey-commemorations/commemorations/george-frederic-handel.