Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Flute Materials in the Riemenschneider Bach Institute

 

Miscellaneous Flute-Related Materials

This page contains any materials that significantly focus on the flute but do not fit into any of the guide's other categories.

The works on this page are listed in alphabetical order by author's last name as follows: 

Galway, James. An Autobiography. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1979. ML419.G28 A3 1979. Circulating.

Full Title Page

James Galway / An Autobiography / St. Martin's Press / New York

Abstract

Autobiography written by James Galway. Covers Galway's childhood up until August of 1977 when he was run over by a motorcycle while walking in Lucerne, Switzerland. Also briefly touches on his subsequent recovery from that accident.

Unique Markings

Sticker on inside cover reads "Riemenschneider Bach Inst. Library Tom Villella Collection"

Pencil markings on title page read "ML 419 .G28 A3", "V. 59", "ISBN-0-312-43965-2", and "1979"

Galway, James (1939-)

Biography

Sir James Galway was born in Belfast, Ireland on December 8, 1939. Galway's parents were amateur musicians, as were many of their neighbors in Belfast, and Galway began playing pennywhistle at a young age before taking up the violin and flute. At age 10, Galway won the Irish Flute Championship, which led to him playing in the Belfast Youth Orchestra and on BBC broadcasts. Galway briefly worked as a piano tuner before studying at the Royal College of Music with John Francis (1956-1959) and at the Paris Conservatoire (1960-1961) with Gaston Crunelle and Jean-Pierre Rampal. 

Following his graduation from the Paris Conservatoire, Galway worked for about a decade as an orchestral flutist with a variety of ensembles including the Sadler's Wells Opera (1961-1966), London Symphony Orchestra (1966-1967), Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (1967-1969), and the Berlin Philharmonic (1969-1975). After departing the Berlin Philharmonic, Galway decided to focus his efforts on being a soloist - releasing his first two solo albums in 1975.

Today, Galway has become one of the most widely renowned solo flutists in the world, giving performances and producing records of classical, popular, and film music. Galway's work has received a variety of awards and accolades including a knighthood in 2001. Today, Galway and his wife, flutist Lady Jeanne Galway, live together in Switzerland with their four children. Both maintain active careers as flutists and are quite active in the realm of flute education. James Galway is the president of Flutewise, a nonprofit organization that provides flutes to students with disabilities and low-income families, and both James and Jeanne Galway frequently give masterclasses around the world.

Additional Flute-Related Writings

  • Flute (1982)
  • The Man with the Golden Flute: Sir James, a Celtic Minstrel (2009)

Further Reading

Blanchard, Bonnie. “Playing with Heart: Lady Jeanne Galway and Sir James Galway.” The American Music Teacher 64, no. 3 (December 2014): 22–25.

David M. Cummings, ed. International Who’s Who in Music and Musicians’ Directory (In the Classical and Light Classical Fields). 13th ed. (Cambridge, England: International Who’s Who in Music, 1992), 377. http://archive.org/details/internationalwho0013unse.

Fehr, Rosalind C. “For Flutist James Galway, Touring and Music Education Blend Well.” Music Educators Journal 92, no. 5 (May 2006): 14.

Floyd, Angeleita. “Annual Lifetime Achievement Award Honors Sir James Galway.” Flutist Quarterly 35, no. 1 (Fall 2009): 54–55.

Hobbs, Elisabeth. “Sir James Galway at 75: A Lifetime of Achievement.” Pan: The Journal of the British Flute Society 33, no. 4 (December 2014): 6–7.

Jaques Cattell Press, ed. Who’s Who in American Music: Classical. (New York: R.R. Bowker, 1983), 150. http://archive.org/details/whoswhoinamerica0000unse_q2u6.

Larkin, Colin, ed. The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music. 2nd ed. Vol. 2. (Middlesex, England: Guinness Publishing, 1995), 1590. http://archive.org/details/guinnessencyclop0002unse.

O’Loughlin, Niall, and Richard Wigmore. “Galway, Sir James.” Grove Music Online, January 20, 2001. https://doi.org/10.1093/gmo/9781561592630.article.10595.

Spaeth, Jeanne. “James Galway: Music as a Way of Life.” Music Educators Journal 85, no. 4 (January 1999): 24–25.

Each listing on this page is separated into two sections - information about the item and information about the item's author. 

The item listings on this page contain the following fields, some of which may be excluded if they are not relevant to an item: 

  • Full Title Page: a transcription of the full title page with “/” denoting page breaks
  • Abstract: a brief description of the item and its contents
  • Unique Markings: a list of unique markings (pencil markings, stamps, ex libris plates, etc.) found in the item
  • Reviews: reviews of the item from external scholarly sources

The author listings on this page contain the following fields, some of which may be excluded if they are not applicable to a particular author: 

  • Biography: a brief biography detailing the author’s life and other works
  • Additional Flute-Related Writings: a list of writings by the author that focus on the flute
  • Additional Compositions Featuring the Flute: a list of compositions by the author that feature the flute in some way. Include the instrumentation and year of composition in paratheses after each listing 
  • Further Readings: sources utilized in this author’s listing that may be of interest to researchers