Searching the Library Catalog for Scores
To locate printed music for a specific instrumentation, you may use the subject search in the OPAL Catalog. Each resource has been tagged with specific subject headings that describe its content. For comprehensive repertoire lists for ensembles, see the Bibliographies & Repertoire Guides tab in this guide.
Subject headings for printed music typically use the name of the instrument(s) followed by the word music (e.g. piano music, flute music). Limit the search by the material type "music score." To find duets for two distinct instruments, use the the following form:
- Harp music
- Oboe and harp music
Subject headings for ensemble music will be listed under the plural form of the genre followed by the instruments (Trios, Quartets...). However, if the ensemble consists of the same instrument, use the plural form of the instruments name.
Classical Scores Online
There are a wide variety of public domain scores available on the Internet. The Loeb Music Library at Harvard University provides a more comprehensive list of digital scores collections available on the web. This is a list of more substantial collections.
- Online Resources for Music Scholars: Digital ScoresAuthoritative, up-to-date source for worldwide links to non-commercial Web sites offering digitized scores and sheet music, maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.
- Classical Scores LibraryLarge and expanding collection of both in-copyright and public domain editions and manuscripts of music scores, mostly from the classical repertory. Includes works by major and lesser-known composers spanning the Renaissance to the 21st century in full, study, and piano-vocal scores, and piano reductions.
- Musical Scores (Eastman School of Music)A collection of public domain scores from the collections of the Sibley Music Library, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester.
- Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP)Canadian Web site sponsored by the International Music Score Library Project and dedicated to creating "a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge."
- Sheet Music ConsortiumContains tens of thousands of images of sheet music from collections throughout the United States. Browsable by title, and searchable by composer, subject, publisher, and date. Hosted by the University of California, Los Angeles.
Important Call Numbers
The following table outlines important call numbers for solo and ensemble repertoire for the harp.
| Harp | Call Number |
| Solos | M 116 - 119 |
| Solo with piano | M 272 - 273 |
| Concertos/orchestra | M 1036 |
Catalogs
- OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
