Catalogs
- OhioLINK Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials held in Ohio college and university libraries.
Searching the Library Catalog for Scores
To locate printed music for a specific instrumentation, you may use the subject search in the OPAL Catalog. Each resource has been tagged with specific subject headings that describe its content. For comprehensive repertoire lists for ensembles, see the Bibliographies & Repertoire Guides tab in this guide.
Subject headings for printed music typically use the name of the instrument(s) followed by the word music (e.g. piano music, flute music). Limit the search by the material type "music score." To find duets for two distinct instruments, use the the following form:
Subject headings for string ensemble music will be listed under typical terms. However, if the ensemble consists of the same instrument, use the plural form of the instrument's name.
Call Numbers
Books and printed music are arranged according to the Library of Congress' Classification System. The library has circulating and non-circulating (reference) collections. Each collection is divided in to three sections.
- M = Printed music/scores (organized by instrument/genre)
- ML = Books about music and musicians
- MT = Books on music theory, pedagogy, and technique
The Jones Music Library has distinct collections for music education and music therapy resources. A complete description of the library's collections may be found here.
Important Call Numbers
The following table outlines important call numbers for solo and ensemble repertoire for string instruments.
| Violin | Viola | Violoncello | Double Bass | |
| Orchestral excerpts | M 40.5 | M 45.5 | M 50.5 | M 55.5 |
| Solos and etudes | M 40-44 | M 45-49 | M 50-54 | M 55-58 |
| Solo with piano | M 217-223 | M 225-228 | M 229-236 | M 237-238 |
| Concertos/full orchestra | M 1012-1013 | M 1014-1015 | M 1016-1017 | M 1018 |
| Concertos/string orchestra | M 1112-1113 | M 1114-1115 | M 1116-1117 | M 1118 |
| Ensembles | |||
| Piano Trios | M 312 | String Trios | M 352 - 354 |
| Piano Quartets | M 412 | String Quartets | M 452 - 454 |
| Piano Quintets | M 512 | String Quintets | M 552 - 554 |
| Octets | M 852 | ||
CD Sheet Music
CD Sheet Music provides access to public domain scores which have been scanned in PDF form. Sheet music pages may be printed out or downloaded. The following collections related to the violin are accessible at the Jones Music Library Circulation Desk.
- Violin Concertos: the ultimate collection - COMP 04-11
- Violin Methods & Studies; the ultimate collection - COMP 03-01
- Violin Sonatas: the ultimate collection - COMP 02-09
- Orchestra Musician's Library - COMP 04-18 v. 1 & 2 VIOLIN
Classical Scores Online
There are a wide variety of public domain scores available on the Internet. The Loeb Music Library at Harvard University provides a more comprehensive list of digital scores collections available on the web. This is a list of more substantial collections.
- Online Resources for Music Scholars: Digital ScoresAuthoritative, up-to-date source for worldwide links to non-commercial Web sites offering digitized scores and sheet music, maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.
- Classical Scores LibraryLarge and expanding collection of both in-copyright and public domain editions and manuscripts of music scores, mostly from the classical repertory. Includes works by major and lesser-known composers spanning the Renaissance to the 21st century in full, study, and piano-vocal scores, and piano reductions.
- Musical Scores (Eastman School of Music)A collection of public domain scores from the collections of the Sibley Music Library, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester.
- Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP)Canadian Web site sponsored by the International Music Score Library Project and dedicated to creating "a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge."
- Sheet Music ConsortiumContains tens of thousands of images of sheet music from collections throughout the United States. Browsable by title, and searchable by composer, subject, publisher, and date. Hosted by the University of California, Los Angeles.
