Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Library Services for Online Learning: Multimedia

This guide offers links and answers questions for the online learning shift taking place in response to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Streaming

Ritter Library subscribes to Films on Demand database. This database offers thousands of documentaries and films in both segments and full length. Both linking URL's and embed codes are provided under the Share option for each video. Search by subject, title, producer or by type. Create an account to put together playlists of segments to share.

Films on Demand

Ritter Library owns the PBS Video Collection from AVON. The database offers access to over a thousand titles from  the video documentaries and series provided by the Public Broadcast System (PBS). Search by title or use Filter to narrow searches by Subject, Person, Content type or Release date. Use the share feature to locate the permalinks or embed codes.

PBS Video Collection

Through the Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funding, OhioLINK provides to member institutions a feature film database by the same group that brings us Films on Demand. Search Feature Films for Education by title or genre to locate both current and hard to find titles.

Feature Films for Education

Online Digital Media also provides suggestions for web sites that may offer content that you can use. 

Online Digital Media

Additional Options for Streaming Video

Consider public library systems. In the Cleveland/Cuyahoga County area, there are two excellent library systems that offer access to streaming video/movie collections. Access is free, all that is required is a current library card. Anyone may apply for a card online and then use the available resources. 

Please check your local public library systems for resources. Most libraries have stopped lending physical materials, but their electronic resources are fully available. Apply for a card to your local system and take advantage of the resources.

Streaming media resources available in the Cleveland Public or Cuyahoga County library systems: Hoopla, Kanopy, Overdrive.

Use the following web site to search subscription-based streaming platforms for films:

JustWatch 

Discounted Subscription Services

Offers a discount to students for Prime. First 6 months free

Three services bundled for a reduced rate. First 3 months free

Student rate for CBS streaming programming. First 7 days free.

Refer to the above page, see the "restrictions apply" link. First month is free. 

No student discount for the subscription. The lowest-priced plan is $8.99/month. First month is free. See the FREE Netflix Educational Documentaries link on this page in the Streaming box.