Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the links below to access OhioLINK, Ritter Library, and free databases that are appropriate for conducting research on Broadcasting, Media Communication, and Film Studies topics. These databases allow precise searching of periodical articles on specific topics. Many of the cited articles will be available for viewing, downloading, or printing from within the citation. If the article is not available in the database that you're in, use 'LinkSource' to find the article in another database, on a periodical website, or to see if Ritter Library owns a print copy of the periodical. If the article is not available electronically or owned by Ritter Library in print, you can request a copy using the Interlibrary Loan Request Form.
Off-campus access: When selecting a database you will be prompted to enter your last name and BW ID card number (7 digits).
Oxford Music Online
Grove is the premier English-language encyclopedia of music. It includes signed articles, works lists, and bibliographies on 20,000 composers, locations, periods, instruments, terms, and other subjects.
Music Online: Classical Music Reference
Search the full-text of music reference titles including Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
Music Online: African American Music Reference
African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
A service that provides translations and phonetic (IPA) transcriptions of thousands of songs and arias.