Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1: Further Reading

By Jessica Jonczyk and Brendan Moir

Further Reading

For more information about Beethoven, his possible courtship, and/or the score itself, feel free to consult these resources.


Beethoven, Ludwig van. Autograph miscellany from circa 1786 to 1799: British Museum Additional Manuscript 29801, ff. 39-162 (The Kafka sketchbook) / edited by Joseph Kerman. The British Museum.

The British Museum. Leipzig Industrie Comptoir.

Clive, H.P.. Beethoven and His World: a Biographical Dictionary. Oxford University Press, 2001.

Digitalisierte Sammlungen Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin. Beethoven, Ludiwig van: Konzerte; pf, orch; C-Dur; op.15, 1800. Unknown.

Kernman, Joseph. Tyson, Alan. Burnham, Scott G.. Johnson, Douglas. Drabkin, William. 2001 "Beethoven, Ludwig van." Grove Music Online, 17 Oct. 2020.

Letters of Note Staff. "Immortal Beloved." Letters of Note. Accessed November 14, 2020.

Nor, Tom. "Clarinet in B?" ABRSM. Accessed November 14, 2020.

Nye-Gin Yeh, Gloria. "Beethoven's Piano Concerto in C Major, Opus 15: Structural Analysis and Performance Strategies." D.M.A Document, The Ohio State University, 1994. Accessed October 17 2020

Plantinga, Leon. Beethoven’s Concertos. W. W. Norton & Company, Inc., 1999.

Predota, Georg. “Beethoven and the ‘Maiden in Love.’” Interlude. Accessed October 17, 2020.

The Editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica. "B - musical note." Britannica. Accessed November 27, 2020.

Authors & Advisers

This exhibit was brought to you by Brendan Moir & Jessica Jonczyk; advised by Dr. Christina Fuhrmann & Paul Cary.

Brendan Moir

For more information about Brendan Moir, click here:

Jessica Jonczyk

For more information about Jessica Jonczyk, click here:

Paul Cary

For more questions about the score, Jones Music Library, or the RBI in general, please email Paul Cary at