Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Styles for Music: Books

Style examples of bibliographic citations in music for APA, MLA & Chicago Manuals of Style.

Style Manuals

As of 2020, we now have online access to the Chicago Manual of Style, which should answer all your questions about citing sources properly in Chicago Style.

Image of cover of Chicago Manual, 17th edition

Humanities Style

Entire Book: Print version Footnote/Endnote:

First reference in paper without a bibliography
Note: ¹Author First Name Last, Title of Book (City:  Publisher, Year), page numbers.
   ¹Charles M. Joseph, Stravinsky Inside and Out (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001), 33.

First note citation in a paper with full bibliography or subsequent citations with or without:
   ²Joseph, Stravinsky Inside and Out, 33.

Bibliography:  Author Last Name, First.  Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year.
   Joseph, Charles M. Stravinsky Inside and Out. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001.
Entire Book: Edited Note: ¹Ethan Haimo and Paul Johnson, Eds. Stravinsky Retrospectives (Lincoln, NE: Univ. of Nebraska Press, 1987), 87.

Bibliography: Haimo, Ethan and Paul Johnson. Eds. Stravinsky Retrospectives. Lincoln, NE: Univ. of Nebraska Press, 1987.
E-book Note: ¹Gretchen Horlacher, Building Blocks: Repetition and Continuity in Stravinsky’s Music (New York: Oxford University Press, 2001),  accessed February 25, 2013 http://rave.ohiolink.edu/ebooks/ebc/9780195370867.

Bibliography: Horlacher, Gretchen, Building Blocks: Repetition and Continuity in Stravinsky’s Music. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001. http://rave.ohiolink.edu/ebooks/ebc/9780195370867. Also available in print.

Chapter in a Book

(Essay in a Festschrift)

Note: ¹Sally Banes, "Firebird and the idea of Russianness," in The Ballets Russes and its World, eds. Lynn Garafola and Nancy Baer (New Haven: Yale University Press, 1999), 130. 

Bibliography: Banes, Sally. "Firebird and the idea of Russianness."  In The Ballets Russes and its World. Edited by Lynn Garafola and Nancy Baer, 117-134. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1999.

Common Questions

What is Humanities Style?

The Humanities Style, also known as Notes and Bibliography, is commonly used for writing in the area of literature, arts, and music.   This style documents its sources using footnotes/endnotes and a bibliography.  This style consists of two parts:  a number in the text and a related note that describes the source in a footnote or endnote (a list of notes at the end of the document).   A bibliography provides a  complete list of resources referred to in the document.

What is "Turabian"?

Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations  is a simplified version of the Chicago Manual of Style written specifically for the the needs of student writers.   This manual provides a wide variety of examples.

What are punctuation practices in Chicago/Turabian Style?

A complete description of punctuation practices may be found at the Chicago Manual of Style Online.