Style Manuals
As of 2020, we now have online access to the Chicago Manual of Style, which should answer all your questions about citing sources properly in Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style by Call Number: Jones Ref. Z253 .U69 2010ISBN: 9780226104201Publication Date: 2010
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
ISBN: 9780226816371Publication Date: 2013-04-03
Web Resources
- Music Citations; Turabian/Chicago StyleDepauw University
- Chicago Manual of Style Examples of Bibliographic Citations in MusicAlbert S. Cook Library, Towson University
Humanities style
| Video Recording | Note: ¹Composer/Writer/Director, Title of Work, Performer/Conductor/Content Creator (Air date; Location: Publisher, Identifying Numer, Copyright Date), Format. Note: ¹Peter West, director, Leaving Home, Orchestral Music in the 20th Century, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, cond. Simon Rattle (1996; Leipzig: ArtHaus Musik, 2005), DVD. Bibliography: N: Composer/Writer/Director. Title of Work. Performer/Conductor/Content Creator. Air date: Location: Publisher, Identifying Numer, Copyright Date. Format. Bibliography: West, Peter. Director. Leaving Home, Orchestral Music in the 20th Century. City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Conducted by Simon Rattle. 1996; Leipzig: ArtHaus Musik, 2005. DVD. |
| Video (online) (e.g. YouTube) | Note: ¹Author, Title, Date (if provided), video clip, Source, Accessed DATE <http://www.www.www>. Note: ¹Alan Huckleberry, Robert Schumann, Hymn, 11 October 2011, video clip, YouTube accessed March 16, 2013, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVeMrXxi9dI&list=PL281F01E9BAE0983C . Bibliography: Author. Title. Date (if provided). Video clip. Source Accessed DATE <http://www.www.www> Bibliography: Huckleberry, Alan. Robert Schumann, Hymn. 11 October 2011. Video clip. YouTube Accessed March 16, 2013 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVeMrXxi9dI&list=PL281F01E9BAE0983C. |
Common Questions
What is Humanities Style?
The Humanities Style, also known as Notes and Bibliography, is commonly used for writing in the area of literature, arts, and music. This style documents its sources using footnotes/endnotes and a bibliography. This style consists of two parts: a number in the text and a related note that describes the source in a footnote or endnote (a list of notes at the end of the document). A bibliography provides a complete list of resources referred to in the document.
What is "Turabian"?
Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations is a simplified version of the Chicago Manual of Style written specifically for the the needs of student writers. This manual provides a wide variety of examples.
What are punctuation practices in Chicago/Turabian Style?
A complete description of punctuation practices may be found at the Chicago Manual of Style Online.
