Bibliography (Works cited)
| Signed article in print encyclopedia | AuthorLastname, F. I. (Date). Article title. IN Title of encyclopedia (Edition, vol. #, pages) .Location: Publisher. Masullo, D.A. (2006). Willie James Dixon. IN Encyclopedia of the blues (vol. 1, pp. 273-5). New York: Routledge. |
| Article in online encyclopedia | AuthorLastname, F. I. (Date). Article title. IN Title of encyclopedia. DOI:xxxxx AuthorLastname, F. I. (Date). Article title. IN Title of encyclopedia. Retrieved from http://xxx.xx.xxx/xxx Walsh, S. (2013). Stravinsky, Igor. IN Grove Music Online. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/subscriber/article/grove/music/52818 |
In-text citations
The following table may be used as a guide for common in-text citations.
| Type of citation | What is in-text |
| The entire work | (Joseph, 2001) |
| A specific page | (Joseph, 2001, p. 33) |
| Author's name included in text | "Joseph (2001, p. 33) states that.." |
| An online article with no page numbers | (Bob, 2010, para. 6) |
| Citing multiple authors | See resources below |
The following resources provide additional information regarding citing multiple authors and other unique situations:
What is a DOI?
Some library databases, such as the Electronic Journal Center, list a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) for individual articles. A DOI is a unique identifying number for an article. In the database record for an article, you will see an element that looks like this, which you should include at the end of your APA reference, preceded by "http://dx.doi.org/":
Other databases include what might be called a static or stable URL. You may use this URL if the DOI is not provided. If neither a DOI or a stable URL are provided, provide the URL for journal's home page or the database that provided the full-text (e.g. http://www.jstor.org).
APA Style Manual
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.Call Number: Ritter Ready Ref. BF 76.7 .P83 2010ISBN: 1433805596Publication Date: 2010
