Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Styles for Music: Dissertations/Theses

Style examples of bibliographic citations in music for APA, MLA & Chicago Manuals of Style.

Style Manuals

As of 2020, we now have online access to the Chicago Manual of Style, which should answer all your questions about citing sources properly in Chicago Style.

Image of cover of Chicago Manual, 17th edition

Humanities Style

Dissertation/Thesis: In print Note: Author First Name Last, "Title in quotation marks" (PhD diss., University, Year), page number.

Note: ¹Loring Linwood Norvell, "Symphony in E-flat, opus 1 by Igor Stravinsky" (DMA Diss., Arizona State University, 1989), 133.

Bibliography: Author Last Name, First.  "Title in quotation marks." PhD diss.,University, Year.

Bibliography: Norvell, Loring Linwood.  "Symphony in E-flat, opus 1 by Igor Stravinsky." DMA Diss., Arizona State University, 1989.
Dissertaton/Thesis: From Database Note: ¹Joni Lynn Steshko, "Stravinsky's "Firebird": Genesis, Sources, and the Centrality of the 1919 Suite," (PhD. Diss., University of California, 2000), 20, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I, Dissertation no. 9976242.

Bibliography: Steshko, Joni Lynn. "Stravinsky's "Firebird": Genesis, Sources, and the Centrality of the 1919 Suite." PhD. Diss.,University of California, 2000. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I, Dissertation no. 9976242.
Dissertation/Thesis: Online Note: ¹Carla Mia Davis, "Effects of Early and Late Rest Intervals on Performance and Consolidation of a Keyboard Sequence," (Ph.D. Diss., Univ. of Texas at Austin, 2007), accessed February 25, 2013 http://hdl.handle.net/2152/3023, 58.
 

Bibliography: Davis, Carla Mia. "Effects of Early and Late Rest Intervals on Performance and Consolidation of a Keyboard Sequence." Ph.D. Diss., Univ. of Texas at Austin, 2007. Accessed February 25, 2013  http://hdl.handle.net/2152/3023(accessed.

Common Questions

What is Humanities Style?

The Humanities Style, also known as Notes and Bibliography, is commonly used for writing in the area of literature, arts, and music.   This style documents its sources using footnotes/endnotes and a bibliography.  This style consists of two parts:  a number in the text and a related note that describes the source in a footnote or endnote (a list of notes at the end of the document).   A bibliography provides a  complete list of resources referred to in the document.

What is "Turabian"?

Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations  is a simplified version of the Chicago Manual of Style written specifically for the the needs of student writers.   This manual provides a wide variety of examples.

What are punctuation practices in Chicago/Turabian Style?

A complete description of punctuation practices may be found at the Chicago Manual of Style Online.