Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Styles for Music: Journal Articles

Style examples of bibliographic citations in music for APA, MLA & Chicago Manuals of Style.

Style Manuals

As of 2020, we now have online access to the Chicago Manual of Style, which should answer all your questions about citing sources properly in Chicago Style.

Image of cover of Chicago Manual, 17th edition

Humanities Style

Journal article: print Note:    ¹Author First Name Last, "Title of Article," Name of Journal  Vol. # (Year):  page(s).

Note: ¹Elliott Antokoletz, "Interval Cycles in Stravinsky's Early Ballets," Journal of the American Musicological Society 39, no. 3 (1986): 588.

Bibliography:   Author Last Name, First.  "Title of Article." Name of Journal  Vol. # issue # (Month Year):  page(s).

Bibliography: Antokoletz, Elliott. "Interval Cycles in Stravinsky's Early Ballets." Journal of the American Musicological Society 39, no. 3 (1986): 578-600.
Journal article; online Note: ¹John Alpin, "Aldous Huxley and Music in the 1920s," Music & Letters 64, no. 1/2 (1983),  accessed March 3, 2013 http://www.jstor.org/stable/735358: 32.

Bibliography: Alpin, John. "Aldous Huxley and Music in the 1920s." Music & Letters 64, no. 1/2 (1983). Accessed March 3, 2013 http://www.jstor.org/stable/735358: 25-36.
Newspaper article: print Note: ¹Alastair MaCauley, "It's All in the Telling, a Step at a Time," New York Times, 18 January 2010.

Bibliography: MaCauley, Alastair, "It's All in the Telling, a Step at a Time." New York Times. 18 January 2010.
Newspaper article: online Note: ¹Bob Velin, "Dancers are a Site to Behold," USA Today, 24 February 2010, accessed March 3, 2013 http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=J0E310596055710&site=ehost-live.

Bibliography: Velin, Bob, "Dancers are a Site to Behold." USA Today. 24 February 2010.  Accessed March 3, 2013 http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=J0E310596055710&site=ehost-live.

Common Questions

What is Humanities Style?

The Humanities Style, also known as Notes and Bibliography, is commonly used for writing in the area of literature, arts, and music.   This style documents its sources using footnotes/endnotes and a bibliography.  This style consists of two parts:  a number in the text and a related note that describes the source in a footnote or endnote (a list of notes at the end of the document).   A bibliography provides a  complete list of resources referred to in the document.

What is "Turabian"?

Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations  is a simplified version of the Chicago Manual of Style written specifically for the the needs of student writers.   This manual provides a wide variety of examples.

What are punctuation practices in Chicago/Turabian Style?

A complete description of punctuation practices may be found at the Chicago Manual of Style Online.