The history of Baldwin Wallace University is one of growth, evolution, faith, and community. From its humble origins during the mid-nineteenth century, across the decades, despite world wars, economic downturns, and changes in higher education, Baldwin Wallace has persisted. The Encyclopedia of Baldwin Wallace University History is intended to be a repository of institutional history, relevant associated content, and the stories that make up this story. All subjects, regardless of sport, Greek affiliation, department, timeframe, or person are eligible for inclusion. Content for this repository has been taken from yearbooks, course catalogs, written accounts, oral histories, student research, audio and video, campus periodicals, institutional documents, and photographs. New content will be added regularly.
Much of the content presented here is taken verbatim from sources available within the University Archive, located in Ritter Library. The formatting of paragraphs and sentences has been maintained. Sources and citations are provided for research and publication purposes. All references to these sources should also credit the University Archive as follows: Courtesy of the University Archive, Ritter Library, Baldwin Wallace University.
 |
*As an academic archives that strives to advance historical research and understanding of our past, the BW Archive is committed to representing digitized images of historic materials as accurately as we can to the source materials. As a result content found here is representative of its source material. Subsequently, text, images, or recordings found in quoted publications may not represent the current opinions, values or current standards of Baldwin Wallace University.
Print resources available include:
Barefoot Millionaire by Indira Gesink
The Past We Inherit by Bette Lou Higgins
Additional resources are available online including:
Scanned materials from the University Archive at…
https://digital.opal-libraries.org/digital/collection/p16708coll5/custom/baldwin-wallace
Digitized audio and video at…
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCikazrF3Xq8FTpnHutYZGIA
For more assistance or to speak with the University Archivist, use the contact information along the right side of the screen or email Kieth A. Peppers at kpeppers@bw.edu.
